Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was a nice experiment but I don't think I will make it again. Most of my guests thought it was good but some ate it and didn't want to touch a second bite! And I don't think people would have eaten it without the pecan topping (which is amazing, btw)... Taste and texture are okay but this makes avery heavy dessert. Not everybody is ready for that kind of cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated in the ingredients and it looks just like the picture on the recipe page! I was pleasantly surprised that it does not have a "veggie" taste, just a great cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This cake was a hit with my family. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I wanted to make something to really dazzle my family on Thanksgiving and this recipes was just the thing. I added finely chopped pecans to the crust for a bit more taste. The topping was the most essential component though, it looked amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Made it for an open house!!!! Everyone Loved it!!!! Not just for the holidays!!! Would make again anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This recipe was the bomb! just awesome.. came out nice and high and the topping was perfect, just the right amount and it wasnt too runny either. I have tried many other cheesecake recipes and this is definately an all time favorite! my family fought over the last piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was a great starter recipe. I did add some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of allspice to the puree. I also omitted the pecans from the topping. The recipe did not call for a waterbath but I used one anyway. Before I added the eggs, I tasted the mix and decided I needed a bit more sweet potato because the flavor was a bit weak. I ended up putting about a third of a cup more potato puree. This for Christmas dessert and it was a huge hit. My first ever cheesecake was a definite success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake. The recipe was simple to follow and the results were fantastic. I didn't add anything not in the original recipe but I may try that in the future. I took it to a holiday party and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is a great recipe! I've made it for Thanksgiving 2yrs running and have gotten nothing but praise for it. I do agree the sweet potato taste is very subtle as written, so next time I'll use the suggestions of the other reviewers. Overall, it's still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A72CUTLAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I added butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the sweet potato puree, which seemed to work out well. I also only used 1/2 cup of pecans in the topping (that's all I had), but it still tasted great. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States