Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have eaten at Gladys Knights which is why I LOVE this cheesecake so much. AFter I left ATlanta I looked for recipes and this is the second I tried and the best so far. Like other users I added cinnamon, nutmeg and butter to my fresh puree before mixing with the cheesecake mix since I was looking for an authentic sweet potatoe pie flavor. (I didn't do that with the other recipe and it wasn't as tasty.) I also saved a step and used caramel ice cream topping and pecans. Delightful! This is my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was a solid recipe to work off of. I never made a sweet potato anything before so it came out good for first timer in the sweet potato category. Like everyone else, I added the nutmeg, cinnamin, and a little bit of ginger powder to the mixture. Agree, that it would have been bland without it. Also, I used ginger snaps and graham crackers for my crust. I also add walnuts to the food processor to add a nuttiness to the crust and it really makes it taste good. My husband is very critical of food and always gives me honest feedback and said he could eat the crust all day. The only complaint would be that the cake cake out a bit dry. Not sure what I could have done to make it moister. Also, I made this for a bake off and it didn't win because they said they could not taste the sweet potato. I think it's there and it's subtle but maybe add more next time. Topping tasted great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe. I made some changes to mine, using brown sugar instead of white, but this is a BIG BIG hit every time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIARC1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Deelish. Used ginger snaps and added pumpkin pie spice to batter. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm sure it is good as is, but I added 1.5 t of cinnamon, 1/2 t of nutmeg, 1/2 t of all spice, about 1/4 c of maple syrup (and reduced sugar amount). Even for the topping I added maple syrup and put less brown sugar. Also added bit of starch to thicken the topping. It was very good! I wish I had pureed sweet potato better as I could see few chunks here and there..lol Oh well, next time it will be closer to "perfection"! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Sooooo awesome! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
this was a success with my family for thanksgiving. However I do think that the recipes filling creates more than what the pie filling can hold. I would reccomend cutting the wet ingredients in half. I also added nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger to my topping to create more holiday flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My family loved this pie made it for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
OMG!!! I had never even heard of this recipe before but I couldn't get enough. It is so unbelievably good. I did add a touch more sugar(maybe a 1/4 cup) and I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few pats of butter to the sweet potato mixture. I baked the potatoes but I don't see why boiling them wouldn't work either. I also used just a regular store bought graham cracker crust just to save time and it was still crunchy and delicious with the cheesecake. You must try this recipe because it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Will

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've received RAVE reviews for this recipe. I made this into cupcakes for my daughter's birthday party, and people are still talking about them. My only suggestion would be to bake the graham cracker crust for only 5 minutes (instead of 10 min) to avoid burning or overbrowning the crust when you cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States