Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Very good and not too sweet. I replaced the crust with a gingersnap/graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was a good recipe; I made this for Thanksgiving dessert. The biggest challenge was the crust--it was difficult to spread the crust on the bottom of the pan, and then later on, the sides. I think it could have cooked longer than the suggested 70 minutes. I know the recipe said cook until set, but I thought it was set at 70 minutes. Would recommend this only to experienced cooks due to the crust factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Either we didn't follow recipe completely or something was missing. It just didn't taste like cheesecake. Tasted more like pumpkin pie! Maybe too much flour or not enough heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
The orange and lemon zests were the enjoyment of the cheesecake as they 'cut' the sweetness of the sweet potatoes. An excellent finished product that was light to the taste and tummy. Directions presented the entire picture and were easy to follow. I brought the cheesecake to work for 'testing.' Nary a crumb left and two requests for the recipe. Great product ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
i made this potato cheesecake for a last minute christmas party and the whole family devouered it. i should have made more. yes it might look like alot of work but its real easy to make as well as fun. i completely recomend this recipe for everyone to try. the crust alone is scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I have made this recipe several times and everyone I know loves it even a good friend who does not like sweet potatoes! The crust does pose a challenge so the past couple of times I used a pre-made graham cracker crust which yields three pies. I also added a little bit of lemon juice (not too much). I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I made this recipe for a farewell party. At first nobody wanted to try a slice because of the sweet potatoes, but at the end of the party everyone was asking for the recipe. I loved it myself and will add it to my favorite to make list. Derril
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Love this cheesecake. I made it once 4 years ago and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I have been making this cheesecake every holiday season, for birthdays and special events in the family. Everyone Loves it and can't get enough. I did have to change the crust to a ginger spice cookie & gramb cracker mix. Mind you it was still very good and everyone loved it with the original crust, it just made it easier because I've had to make so many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This turned out wonderful... I got caught needing to bring a dessert to dinner. Ended up using a pre-made (gasp!!) graham cracker crust and the filling made enough for 2 cakes. I only cooked it @ 350 for about 30 minutes. Added 1 Tbsp Vanilla and 1 Tbsp Coconut extract. Also, I grated a whole lemon and a whole orange (little) for the zest- it wasn't quite a tablespoon, but close enough! And it was a perfect amount! After the cakes were done I sprinkled the top with brown sugar & put some marshmallows all over the top. It was just the touch needed. Not too sweet, but absolutely delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States