Sweet Potato Casserole VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Oh, my word! This was so good! I would have given the recipe five stars had I not had to tweak it somewhat. I felt it would have been too bland as written, so I added 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg, a pinch of salt, and about 1/4 C. vanilla yogurt with 1/4 C half and half instead of the milk. Also, I buttered the casserole dish and sprinkled it with raw sugar before pouring in the potatoes. In addition, I used only one egg since I had only 2 cups sweet potatoes. The baking time stayed the same. The topping is what stands out here--inspired! This dish will be a permanent part of the rotation now as hubby loves sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This my first sweet potatoe caserole. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I like my sweet potato casserole a little sweeter so I had to add some additional brown sugar, as well as, some cinnamon and marshmallows. Pecans also make it a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have tried many sweet potato recipes but this will be my one and only from now on. The coconut makes all the difference! I did cut back on the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I love sweet potatoes but my family does not. I still insist on serving them though. I made this recipe instead of my usual one. It tasted the same as what I normally serve but something about the presentation - my family ate it! Now I have to make and bring the sweet potatoes to Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Served this at Thanksgiving and it was the new family favorite. I didn't have any coconut, so substituted finely chopped walnuts because it is what I had on hand. I personally would have liked it to be not quite so sweet, but I was alone on that !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Really good. I like that it is not too sweet but still very tasty. I made one version with the coconut topping and one with marshmallows since my husband requested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I found this recipe years ago and had lost it, so glad to find it again! I don't care for candied sweet poto's but LOVE this recipe....it has once again become a tradition in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is idential to my recipe that I've been usingi since 1986. Those who don't care for sweet potatoes like this dish. In addition to the coconut I add 1/2 cup crushed pecans for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Poland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States