Sweet Potato Casserole V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Very, very good. I reduced the brown sugar to ¼ C in both cases and added a generous shot of Maker's Mark. (put some in the sweet potatoes too.) Assumed egg whites were to be beaten to stiff peaks and folded in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Since I made this for Easter, I substituted 2% milk for the eggnog. It has a wonderful flavor and the topping makes a nice crust to go along with the sweet potato. I did place it under the broiler for a few minutes to get the top a little crisper. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDREFFITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Unreal! Very easy and great taste. I added cinnamen and pecans to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Really good, and a bit different than the other versions. I added a bit of cinnamon to the topping, used milk instead of eggnog and browned the sugar under the broiler at the end. Really great side dish and I will definitely make again, maybe splenda next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I loved this recipe. You can really taste the eggnog in it. I used 3cups drained canned sweet potatoes and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Great Recipe! This a hit at Thanksgiving! Everyone was very impressed! I added marshmellows in addition to the crunchy topping, I like the extra sweetness! I also added a tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is an awesome sweet potato casserole recipe, especially if you are calorie concious. Nobody who ate it complained that it didn't have enough flavor, and I have made a much heavier version in the past for the same group. I will use this recipe in the future exclusively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wow!!! I've tried many sweet potato recipies. This one TOPS them all 100 times over. I added nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, and juice from a half of a lemon. OH MY OH MY! The recipe alone is just fantastic. Great Job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My family traditionally doesn't like sweet potato dishes at Thanksgiving. I love them. So, every year I try a new one to see if we can find a winner. I've been doing that for 20 years. Well, this one turned out to be the one. Everyone loved them and raved about them -- even those who usually hate sweet potatoes. The only thing I did differently is I doubled the recipe and used butter - not margarine. Also, I forgot to prepare the casserole dish. It didn't stick though. I made this the night before Thanksgiving and kept it in the fridge. I didn't add the crumble topping until I was ready to put it in the oven. It took a little longer to bake, obviously, because it was cold. I baked it for about an hour. But, I baked it along with another casserole, so if it was in there alone it would probably take less time. My family has requested that this recipe gets added to our permanent Thanksgiving roster. That's a big deal. Try this. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious! To make the whole thing a little healthier I used skim milk instead of eggnog and egg substitute instead of egg whites. I also turned the broiler on at the very end of the baking time so that the topping browned. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States