Sweet Potato Casserole V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Really easy and very tasty. I have used a different recipe every time I have made a holiday dinner but now I have found the one I am going to just stick with. I followed the recipe exact except I used 3 cans drained sweet potatoes to cut down on time. Next time I am going to double this recipe. There were 8 of us for dinner and the whole casserole was gone. Everybody loved it and a few people commented that they liked the fact that there were no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is sooo easy and tastes great. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and found it too sweet. The second time I did not put the brown sugar in the potatoes only on top and it tasted so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Pretty good. Made this tonight for an "after Thanksgiving" dinner with my parents. They both liked it, but my bf did not (but my bf doesn't care for sweet potatos/casseroles anyways). I somewhat liked this, but thought it was a tad too sweet (and I like sweet!). I do appreciate the fact that there are no nuts in the recipe. Followed Kelley's recipe almost to a T.... Instead of cooking & mashing fresh sweet potatoes, I drained/mashed 3 cups worth of canned yams. My only other changes were to add 1/4 t cinnamon, a 1/2 t vanilla extract & a 1/2 t of orange extract (per SOUPAMOM's suggestion). I could really taste the orange flavor - not bad, but a bit overpowering for me. I couldn't taste the eggnog at all (bummer!). After my casserole baked, I broiled it for a couple of minutes on high to carmelize the brown sugar topping. If I ever make this again, I'll a) use fresh sweet potatoes (I think canned yams, although convenient, made the casserole sweeter than usual because of the syrup they are packaged in - even though I thoroughly drained them), b) use all vanilla extract, maybe even half the amount called for and b) use half the amount of brown sugar/flour/butter mixture for the topping (it was a bit overwhelming for me). Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the first allrecipes recipe I tried and I could not be happier. This dish was a complete hit and will be a Thanksgiving staple for me from now on. It's not too sweet and the eggnog totally sets this dish off. Try this recipe, you won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wow!!! I've tried many sweet potato recipies. This one TOPS them all 100 times over. I added nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, and juice from a half of a lemon. OH MY OH MY! The recipe alone is just fantastic. Great Job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Excellent. I made this at Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This dish was the hit of my THanksgiving dinner. Everyone had seconds! Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This dish was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. Using eggnog in them is a stroke of genius. The only change I made was adding some cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture and a bit more to the brown sugar/flour topping mixture before cutting in the butter. Everyone raved about them at dinner, including people who said they normally don't like sweet potatoes but wanted to try these. They smell heavenly while baking too! By popular demand, I definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasAnnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Great recipe. Everyone loved it on Thanksgiving dinner. It has alot less sugar then my other recipe and still tasted great. Less sugar is a big plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is EXCELLENT... much healthier and a better consistency than the one I usually make. Also, I like that the topping DOESN'T have nuts... great for people with allergies. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States