Sweet Potato Casserole V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
After first time making this today, this will become a Christmas standard. As noted by author, not dessert-like sweet! Everyone loved this dish. Changes we made: used 2.5 lbs of sweet potatoes, not 3 cups, left off topping, used skim milk instead of eggnog, added 1/2 tsp of maple syrup, 1/2 tsp rum flavoring, 1/2 tsp butter flavoring, used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites. A food processor seems like a better device to mash potatoes/mix than using a blender. Our blender struggled to mash/mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Yummy! And so simple to make! It makes your holiday prep easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Added chppoed pecans on top & broiled for last minute to get a crust on top - Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving & loved it & will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was delicious. The only thing I changed about the recipe was to use skim milk instead of egg nog. Very happy to have a recipe that does not require marshmellows. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this casserole, but would definitely suggest using skim milk rather than egg nog & use half the amount. I would also only use 1/2 the amount of brown sugar in the casserole (use the whole amount on top), no salt & half the butter. I cooked it for 35 minutes & broiled it on low for 5 minutes to carmelize the topping. This makes the casserole a little more formed & sort of like an apple crisp topping...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was great. I usually eat my sweet potatoes with butter, salt and alot of pepper. I need to sweeten them up when I serve them for Thanksgiving. I did cut the amount of sugar/butter that is sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum! Yum! This is absolutely delicious! I also added a 1/2 tsp maple flavoring, 1/2 tsp butter flavoring, and 1/2 tsp rum flavoring. It makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I was so happy to find this recipe. My husband loves the gooey marshmallow casserole but I don't care for it. This is a great compromise, sweet without being over the top. Even my mother-in-law who can always find something to complain about loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Let's just say my boyfriend has replaced his favorite that his mother makes with this one!! Don't tell her that!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States