Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This recipe is almost identical to one we've used for 25+ years. A Thanksgiving and Christmas family tradition. I use whole milk instead of the evaporated milk, cut back to 1/2 cup white sugar, and for the topping use 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup oatmeal along with brown sugar and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Perfect, just what I was looking for. I used a big can of Bruce's yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is the best. I make it every year. Can't wait to make it again this year. The brown suger and pecan mixture is what makes it. I could it that all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Totally awesome recipe. I prepared this side dish for my son's 16th birthday party. It was a tremendous hit, especially with the men!!! One thing I added though was some pumpkin spice and cinnamon sprinkled to the topping. This dish is almost dessert worthy. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCSEEKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
A new family favorite! We make it for every holiday and special events. Even my brother-in-law who hates sweet potato casserole loves this recipe. I have made it with the full sugar - and with 1/2 the sugar and would say that it is good either way. You would have to decide how sweet you want it. If you make it with the full sugar it will end up tasting like a dessert and not a dish that goes with dinner. You choose - it doesn't matter with this recipe because it is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is the sweet potato casserole I make for Thanksgiving. I have been making it for about 5 years. Everyone loves it!! I don't change anything. Even my grandma, a declared sweet potato hater, loves this casserole! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pavilion, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
LOVE IT! I have been looking for a recipie that was similar to a casserole I had a catered dinner, and this was just like it. I did leave out the nuts though because I am not a big fan of them and I have a relative who is allergic. This is my favorite and will be at my Thanksgiving every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
So very, very good! The only changes I made was to add some cinnamon to both the sweet potato mixture and the topping, and I left out the pecans because I didn't have any. The whole family loved it, and the leftovers were great for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is another family holiday dish. I cut back on the sugar as I didn't want it too sweet. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for the first time for Christmas dinner...what a hit! I already have requests to make it again for the next holiday...no matter what it is! Because of the reviews stating the sugar content was excessive, I decided to cut the sugar as well. Still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States