Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Family favorite for Easter! Yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We usually only do marshamallows on our sweet potatoes but I didn't have any marshmallows today so I thought I would try this recipe. We aren't fans of pecans but actually loved the crunch they gave this recipe! My husband surprised me by saying we had to make these again! Thanks for a great recipe! I made one slight change - I added some cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This turned out so good. Easy and really tasty. The consistency was perfect, not too soft (aka runny), but still nice and creamy. I didn't really measure the cups of mashed sweet potatoes because I boiled several large ones and it was easier to mash them in the pot, then mix in everything else before transferring to the pan... this way I didn't have to dirty as many things. The topping, at first I was skeptical it was finished correctly, but it was delicious. Also, I made this the night before Thanksgiving and it was great heated up the next day... I just served it onto our plates and then microwaved it... but we are not very strict here :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
One of my best friends, who wrote a cookbook, loves this! Enough said :) I also add about 1/2 cup orange juice and a dash of cinnamon to the potatoes when I am mashing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe, although it required some tweaking. As other reviews said, it is wise to cut down the sugar. I baked my mix in an 8x8 with not quite 1/4 C. white sugar, half the butter and used corn starch for egg replacement. I cut the topping in half also (less surface area on an 8x8) and added the remaining half of the evaporated milk. I did add mini marshmallows. I roasted my potatoes in the oven with coriander and cinnamon before mashing, that will probably make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have a hubby that's not so easy to please but he loved this recipe. This is really good and easy to make. I also used 1/2 of the sugar and it was just right. I will be making it again this time for my mother-in-law to taste it at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Love this recipe and my kids do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I've used this recipe before. It's been around for a while. Cut back on the sugars unless you want people to tell you that it tastes like dessert and not a side dish. I gave a 5 star because kids will eat it this way but it's not really good to have all the sugars for the kids either. Very good with a little cinnamon and nutmeg mixed with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it quite a few times, next time I am going to use less brown sugar for the topping...I think 1/2-3/4 is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used reviewer's suggestion of 1/2 cup of sugar. It was perfect for our tastes! I also cut back on the sweet topping amount. The eggs, milk, butter made it creamy and a dash of nutmeg enhanced the flavor. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States