Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I FIXED THIS FOR MY FAMILY. THEY LOVED IT SO MUCH, THEY GOT SICK OFF OF IT! I LEFT OUT THE NUTS. MY FAMILY AND I ARE NOT A BIG FAN OF THEM. BUT THIS RECIPE IS PERFECT OTHERWISE. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista
Home Town: Tennessee Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I don't really care for sweet potatoes, but these I devoured one easter many years ago. My sister insisted even if I hated sweet potatoes that i would love these. What do you know? She was right!! The only thing I do different is double the recipe and make 1/3 more topping than the recipe calls for. Hate sweet potatoes? Try this one and you'll never be able to say that again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very sweet, but delicious - more like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I used 2 29 oz cans of sweet potatoes, drained and mashed them, then followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It turned out great! A big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This says you can use butter or margarine. My daughter found out the hard way that margarine does not work. The topping is supposed to be crumbly and the margarine made it into a gooey mess. Ues butter in this recipe and you will be very happy with it! I only made it with only 1/3 cup white sugar for the base. It was perfect. I have always avoided sweet potatoes at family gatherings{ too syrupy and too mushy} but I now have a new favorite. My sister who always made the canned yams and marshmallows said she loved this compared to hers. This will be on my Christmas dinner table as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this for thanksgiving for the first time. It was a wonderful treat compared to the marshmallow topping. It was sweet, but the crunch from the pecans was a really nice touch. Will make again even if it isn't thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
i have been making this type of sweet potatoes for a long time; love it love it. i however use a lot less sugar, maybe 1/3 cup st most, sometimes don't use the milk, and sprinkle a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg on top before putting on the topping. yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very good. The best dish we had a Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
A wonderful receipe. I made this for Thanksgiving and my mother-in-law made her version. My recipe won hands down (not that I am counting :) I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the evaporated milk. The only thing I would change would to put it in a larger dish so I could double the recipe for the topping because people really liked that part of it. The family thought it was the best recipe for sweet potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This recipe is amazing!! It is sweet enough for dessert, and perfect warmed up with those turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNesbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States