Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this for my Dad, scaled down for 1 potato. Wasn't sure about the OJ so left it out. Know what he said? He said he gave it a 4 but it would get a 5 if it had a little OJ! I (who am not a huge sweet potato fan) tried it before cooking and liked it better without the OJ, but my Dad, who loves sweet potatoes would have liked this exact recipe better. Lesson learned. This recipe gets a 5 from the expert. Point to learn for all of us giving reviews: we ALL like our own tweaks better, the point is to REVIEW BASED ON THE ORIGINAL RECIPE!!!!!!! Thank you Stephanie, my Dad and I owe you one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I did a test run before taking it to a Holiday feast, and with the marshmallows in addition to the brown sugar, it was too sweet for me, and I have a pretty big sweet tooth. When I make it for the feast, I will leave out the brown sugar altogether, add salt, and drastically reduce the number of marshmallows used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this recipe on Thanksgiving. I didn't have any orange juice so I skipped that step. I must say this was the best sweet potatoe casserole I have ever had. I added a dash of vanilla just for kicks and it was simply amazing. I am making it for a side for dinner tomorrow for some dinner guests. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Excellent. I omitted the orange juice. I added crushed graham crackers to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is just what I was expecting - classic sweet potato casserole. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph8608

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I did this for Thanksgiving this year. First of all, I do not care for sweet potatoes but it seems that everyone looks for this as a side dish, so I decided to use this recipe. I have to say that it was the hit of the dinner, everyone loved it. There was no left overs for this dish. The only thing that I may have done differently was that I made this dish the night before and reheated it. I will keep this recipe and make it for Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbiesbenz
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband love it so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
used yams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felonious Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delish! I've always been a HUGE fan of sweet potatoes covered in toasty marshmallows (mmmm...). It's been a family tradition for as long as I can remember. Every bite of this was like taking a trip down (childhood) memory lane. :) My only (minor) gripe is that this was not sweet enough for my liking (yes, I like SWEET potatoes!). My potatoes were quite large, so this could be the reason why. To compensate, I added ~ 1/4 c. additional sugar, another T or so of OJ and a t of pure vanilla. NOTE: For those of you who don't care for "stringy" sweet potatoes, use a mixer to combine them with everything else. All the strings will "wrap" themselves around the beaters. Just be sure to NOT scrape after beating! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Stephanie! This is and always will be one of my holiday favorites! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I loved it and so did my whole entire family (all picky eaters)! It tasted more like a dessert than a side dish. I'm happy to say there are leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States