Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
For me, the orange juice only took away from the flavor. If you like your potatoes a little tangy, leave it in. Otherwise, I think you'll find they taste better without it. Also, add a pinch of nutmeg and ginger like another reviewer suggested, it can really be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I'm wavering between three and four stars, but I decided to err on the side of generosity. :) I made some changes to the directions which I find easier: cut the tops and bottoms of the sweet potatoes and bake them on a cookie sheet in your oven for about an 1 hour and 30 min. No need to preheat the oven, just turn it directly to 350. Once they come out of the oven and cool a bit, take the skin off by slicing the skin (which should have sort of separated from the potato) down the middle (like you would a hot dog bun) and peeling it off. I think it's so much easier to take the skin of after you bake them. From there, mash them up with the sugar, butter (I used about 3 Tbsp), orange juice, and cinnamon. Follow the rest of the directions from here. :) Bake for approx. 20 minutes in the preheated 350 F oven. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this last year for Thanksgiving for my in-laws dinner. My husband ate this and said it was very good, which he is very honet about my cooking. When I was growing up my aunt made this all the time and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Decadent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This sweet potato casserole is AMAZING! My husband said they are the best he's ever eaten! I omitted the orange juice, though, and sprinkled a mixture of brown sugar and cinnamon on top of the marshmallows. SCRUMPTIOUS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is by far my favorite Sweet Potato Casserole!!! My husband and I really like sweet potatoes, so we make this occassionaly through out the year, not just around the holidays. A great addition to your dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Made this for my first Thanksgiving and everyone (who likes sweet potatoes) LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Broek Boaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Just like my mother-in-laws! The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This came out quite well. My family is southern and they usually just eat yams cooked on the stove..but they loved this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
THIS WAS GREAT. WE REALIZED WE DIDNT HAVE BROWN SUGAR AND USED TRUVIA INSTEAD AND IT WAS REALLY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States