Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent! A little on the sweet side, so I would likely cut out the sugar in the potatoe mixture next time and just keep the topping sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It was so easy to make and turned out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this as the recipe says and it turned out perfect! I ended up boiling about 6 large yams to get the 4.5 cups of mashed yams. The texture was very creamy inside and crumbly on top. This definitely beats the old marshmallow toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My family loved this recipe for thanksgiving. I used 1/2 cup fat free half & half in place of the milk and eliminated the sugar from the mash, since the streudel on top is already sweet enough. My 18 mo old and 3 year old both gobbled up healthy portions too. This recipe is so creamy and flavorful, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very delicious and easy to bake! Instead of boiling, I cooked my sweet potatoes in the oven without foil directly on the rack for about 25 minutes. Make sure to poke them with a fork. You can also microwave 1 potato at a time for about 7 minutes and then once they were cooked, I slide a fork prong under the skin long ways and cut it all the way down lengthwise and then pulled it off quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My mother insists that I make this every Thanksgiving. It's amazing. I don't measure my sweet potato or my milk. I just add til it looks right. Recipes have always been just kinda guidelines for me and mom. lol. I also add a little cinnamon. And instead of mixing the chopped pecans with the butter, flour, brown sugar mixture. I decorate the top of the mixture with whole pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very good but I added a bit of pumpkin pie spice and some cinnamon to the mashed sweet potatoes. It just gives it a little more of the traditional holiday flavor that everyone loves. I think I will definitely make it again though, incredibly tasty with the pecan topping! I recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Perfect! I kept the pecan halves whole which gave us the unexpected benefit of kids actually eating it since it was easy to remove the pecans! Always a consistent winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acarp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Wow! I just made this. I cut the sugar & butter in half for the portion that was mixed in with the sweet potatoes before the crumble. All the other stuff, I followed the recipe. I made this for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow, but made a ramikin so that I could try it! It was delicious! I can't wait to serve it to my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnygirl12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and I got so many compliments for it! I made double the topping and added the teaspoon of vanilla and salt as others suggestions. Really wonderful dish. Much sweeter than a normal vegetable side, but fits in really well with Thanksgiving flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States