Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe! I used sweet potatoes and yams for the 4 1/2 cups. The taste was great and it wasn't too sweet. I did make a double batch for the topping and used the evaporated milk instead. I highly recommend this for thanksgiving or any large meal you plan on making! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Kid-approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Everybody loved these and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband and I are on a special diet, so I didn't add the topping and used Splenda instead of the sugar and it was still delicious. I used about 1 tablespoon of molasses to give it a brown sugar flavor. I guess the butter flavor (which I probably should have left out or at least have decreased but didn't) came through and made this dish just scrumptious even without the topping. Will definitely make again--not too often because of the calories, but maybe for the holidays--with the topping. Oh diet, I must not betray thee (too often).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is the best sweet casserole I have ever had! A few things I had to change... I ran out of brown sugar... so I just didn't make the topping... and I only used 1/2 cup of pecans and mixed those all together with the casserole before I put it in the oven. My husband tried it and he said they were amazing and he forbids me trying the topping next time! The amount of pecans I used was perfect... and the casserole tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Amazing. I baked fresh sweet potatoes and used those. I halved the amount of sugar and used panela (whole cane sugar) instead. It gave it a warmer taste. I made this for a party I had this Christmas and there was none left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was so sweet and tasty. My husband is begging me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving last year; I HATE the sweet potato/yam casseroles with marshmallows, so I was excited to try this one...sooooo glad I did! It was delicious, and every one of my 16 guests gobbled it up. I followed the recipe exactly, and baked my sweet potatoes in the oven for about an hour and a half before mashing them. I made the topping and mashed the potatoes a day ahead of time, and then just assembled everything and baked right before dinner. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbie116

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This only get's better the more times you make it. Directions were super easy to follow and I only deviated in not adding nuts becuase my husband is allergic. Regardless, it comes out super yummy and everyone always asks for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was creamy and crunchy and delicious! The topping definitely makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States