Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this recipe for our family's Thanksgiving gathering. It was a huge hit! The only two minor changes I made was to use two 29-ounce cans of sweet potatoes, and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of the cup of white sugar. The topping I increased by 50%. I like this much more than the recipe I use that requires marshmallows. I will definitely make this again, probably for Christmas Eve. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added less sugar. About 3/4 cup. Added cinnamon. For the topping didn't use flour or butter. Just sprinkled chopped pecans and a little bit of brown sugar. The sweet potatoes have their own sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by holitok
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've been making this for a couple years now and everybody loves it this time year it's the most asked for dish! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this last year and it was a huge hit !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolores Matarazzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is an absolutely fantastic sweet potato recipe. I first made it several years ago not knowing what to expect. Now it has become a tradition for our family at both Thanksgiving and Christmas. The family craves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have been making this and only this one since I found this recipe. I have done the recipe to a T and done some revamping.. The difference, it only gets better every year. Thank you for such an awesome recipe! Oh an FYI, my husband hates nuts, but this casserole is the exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyandjohnk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Amazing. I leave out the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I made this for my new office for our Thanksgiving sales meeting. I used 2 lg cans of Yams, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, used evaporated milk, added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and clove, doubled the pecans but not the mix. I made it the night before, but melted the butter for the topping, mixed it, then put it in the refrigerator, then put it together the next morning and cooked it. The topping mixes better with melted butter and crumbles better if it's cold. This was the hit of the dinner. I highly recommend it even for those who don't like Sweet Potatoes or Yams. They all thought I was a gourmet cook. That, I am not.... I've made it from the recipe for family gatherings and everybody loved it, but this year I'm changing it up like I did for the office. It's been a big hit but I have to say these changes made it the best I've ever done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was a great quick fix. The only thing i did different was reduce the ketchup to 2 tablespoons as other reviewers had recomended. but i am not a big fan of ketchup anyway. But as for the ketchup flavor it is different strokes for different folks. I would try adding a little at a time and taste to suit you. I used jumbo biscuits because that is all i had. Next time i will use regular size as i found that i was getting more biscuit than the filling and it was drowning the flavor out. To make the cream cheese mix smooth microwave for 30 seconds, stir, add the milk and microwave for 30 more seconds and mix until smooth then add to other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Similar To Paula Deen's recipe... But we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States