Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent. Based on some other reviews, I used evaporated milk and halved the white sugar because I didn't want both parts of the casserole to be very sweet, just the topping. I made this to bring to Thanksgiving dinner because I know no one in my family really likes sweet potatoes, so if I messed up, no one would really care. But it was the highlight of the dinner. Everybody raved about it. I baked 6 yams and cooked it for maybe 35 minutes. It was really delicious. I'm a terrible cook and still managed to pull it off. Try it. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent Easy to follow and make. This was better than expected, I received nothing but compliments. Thank you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was ALL GONE before Dinner was over! Made this as a passing dish for 12 people at Thanksgiving and it was gobbled up quick - several people had seconds and thirds! I baked the sweet potatoes wrapped in foil (put on a cookie sheet to catch the drips) for 1.5 hours at 400 degrees first. Then cooled and peeled easily. I only used 1/4 c of sugar in the potato mixture - it was plenty sweet once the topping was added. I used a hand mixer on the potato mixture and it came out light and creamy. The rest of the recipe was followed exactly and it came out perfectly proportioned in a 9x13 glass baking dish. Thanks for this great Holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Used 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of the white sugar and added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the pecan topping. (We also added marshmallows to the top at the end because it's tradition) My brother said this was the best sweet potato casserole he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I add a small can of crushed pineapple to the sweet potatoes. Gets raves every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've been making something similar for years. I omit the white sugar all together, since I find the dish sweet enough without it. I add a pinch of nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger to the mix as well. I mix together a little maple syrup and orange juice to pour over the top, rather than the sugar crumble. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I make this every year and it's a favorite dish. I make a vegan version that is just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Very good! I've been making this for years. You'll love it. It doesnt take that long to prepare either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe is sooo delicious thank you for sharing. Everyone loved it including a person who normally hates sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Been using this recipe for about 5 years now. Family wouldn't let me leave it off the menu even if I wanted to! Only thing I add is about a half a shot of Bourbon. Try it, but not too much. Really just a splash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States