Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I cooked this for Thanksgiving and got the most compliments with this recipe and I looked like a pro-chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WOW. I used about 12 potatoes (baked, not canned), added about 2/3 c bourbon, replaced most of the white sugar with light & dark brown, and cut out most of the butter in the sweet potato part. This thing is DIVINE. Downright sinful. Be sure to send any leftovers home with your guests, otherwise it'll be calling your name from the fridge..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The terrible thing about this recipe is that you can not stop eating it! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very yummy casserole, I received lots of compliments when I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Had to add marshmallows for the traditionalist, but still the crunchy topping made the dish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for both of my parents and in-laws house...I'm giving it a 4 because it no one commented on how good it was, about half of it was eaten at each house. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is DELICIOUS!! Due to previous reviews, I only put 1/4 cup of sugar and next time will omit it all together. Rave reviews at the Thanksgiving table. This is the new staple for us at the holidays. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I made it last year and everyone loved it. I added marshmallows to the top b/c my husband grew up with that but personally I don't like them. This year I made it with only 1/4 cup sugar added to the sweet potatoes. They are so delicious on their own that you could omit it all together and it will still be sweeter than your pumpkin pie! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent. Based on some other reviews, I used evaporated milk and halved the white sugar because I didn't want both parts of the casserole to be very sweet, just the topping. I made this to bring to Thanksgiving dinner because I know no one in my family really likes sweet potatoes, so if I messed up, no one would really care. But it was the highlight of the dinner. Everybody raved about it. I baked 6 yams and cooked it for maybe 35 minutes. It was really delicious. I'm a terrible cook and still managed to pull it off. Try it. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent Easy to follow and make. This was better than expected, I received nothing but compliments. Thank you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was ALL GONE before Dinner was over! Made this as a passing dish for 12 people at Thanksgiving and it was gobbled up quick - several people had seconds and thirds! I baked the sweet potatoes wrapped in foil (put on a cookie sheet to catch the drips) for 1.5 hours at 400 degrees first. Then cooled and peeled easily. I only used 1/4 c of sugar in the potato mixture - it was plenty sweet once the topping was added. I used a hand mixer on the potato mixture and it came out light and creamy. The rest of the recipe was followed exactly and it came out perfectly proportioned in a 9x13 glass baking dish. Thanks for this great Holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States