Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
this was awesome! my first try and it tasted great! even my 3 year old son loved it and he doesnt like potatoes...but the trick was to tell him there were marshmallows... i used canned sweet potatoes(29 oz) and used the same measurements and added a pinch of nutmeg, and used an 8.5X11.5 casserole...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I grew tired of my old candied yams recipe and found this. I used 2 29 oz cans and only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. After reading reviews about the OJ being overpowering, I cut it down to 1 tablespoon. I also added way more than a pinch of cinnamon (also some nutmeg and ginger). It turned out delicious and I think I may have a replacement for our traditional holiday fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have made this every Thanksgiving since finding it. I really like that this recipe in that it is not as sweet as other sweet potato casseroles, that taste more like a dessert than a side dish. I could really taste the sweet potato. I did roast them on a pan at 410 deg. for 45 min. in the oven than cooled, peeled, and mashed. Glad to have found this recipe with the right balance of flavors for a great holiday side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Turned out really well! was very yummy, just the right amount of sweetness. Family loved it, even the ones who dont eat sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEENER2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe! I served this over the holidays and was told it was better than family's recipe for sweet potato casserole. I added a little more butter than this recipe called for and I used real butter. I also added some nutmeg. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was good. I halved the OJ and it was still overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was actually better 2 days later. The flavors had time to meld. Most of the kids liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was very easy, which is good because this was my first attempt at making a sweet potato casserole. It definitely won't be the last - it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States