Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a classic holiday favorite! I think it's so much easier to bake the yams until fork-tender, about 25 minutes, rather than boil them because then the skin just comes right off. I mash them up with the ¼ tsp. of cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg, ¾ cup of packed light brown sugar, ¼ cup of real butter and 3T. of fresh squeezed orange juice. Lastly, I sprinkled a layer of crushed pecans on top of the sweet potatoes and mini-marshmallows. I place the sweet potatoes back in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 2 to 3 minutes until the mini-marshmallows melt and becomes slightly golden brown. The yams are always sweet and creamy, the marshmallow topping is nicely toasted, ooey and gooey- a nice touch. The crunchy pecans and brown sugar topping which adds a nice carmelized crunchy texture on the top of the sweet potatoes! The orange juice gives a nice layer of flavor! The yams (sweet potatoes) are high in fiber so I indulged with absolutely no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing! Definitley a keeper, although I did make one slight change. I didn't have any orange juice at hand so I used about a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice instead. I used this for Thanksgiving 2011 and It'll be back next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne365

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
With all the great reviews I decided to just go with this recipe. I made it exactly as written and it turned out looking beautiful but didn't taste good! My husband was sooo mad at me, the orange juice was so over bearing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Followed the suggestions of others and cut down on the amount of orange juice. Also did a mixture of brown sugar, butter, & pecans to add under the layer of marshmallows. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This came out great. I did add a bit more butter and brown sugar because I like them really sweet. Also I did not use the OJ because I did not have any on hand. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Even my 11-year old, who does not like sweet potatoes, loved this! I followed the review that said to use less orange juice--that was definitely correct. If you use the amount recommended, it overpowers the sweet potato flavor. I also made it ahead of time and used the same reviewer's reheating instructions. Perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this recipe as is minus the orange juice, and it came out great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very good, the flavor really reminds me of the way my Grandmother used to make her Sweet Potato Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've used this recipe now for about 3 years and every Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter my family wants it! Huge hit! I followed the tips given that suggest adding 3/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c orange juice, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2 tsp orange peel spice, and 2 tsp cinnamon. I also added a little more butter and if it doesn't taste right I add more brown sugar and cinnamon, depending on how I like it. You can do this recipe with 5 large sized sweet potatoes and fill a 13x9 in. pan no problem. And I use an electric mixer to to blend it all together and don't shake the stirrer so that most of the strings aren't in the casserole. You will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
can't get enough of this thanksgiving classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States