Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good. I forgot to peal the yams, so that was not too good- but that was my mistake. Tasty with the orange in it. My thanksgiving company liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy and delicious! A staple for my Thanksgiving table, thank you! Oh...I used butter instead of margarine and did what the first reviewer suggested and mixed some of the marshmallows in with the potatoes to get little yummy surprises inside. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a really good recipe....I used marshmallows in the recipe and on top. It was a hit with my family. I couldn't taste the orange juice and was a little confused on the pinch of cinnamon and how big the sweet potatoes were supposed to be so I used 5 big potatoes and just basically dumped the cinnamon. It made a large casserole sized dish ful (the long glass dish)l. It was yummy and not overly sweet. This is the first time I have used marshmallows on top instead of the cruncy sweet topping and it was a great alternative. I would recommend this and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Way to sweet!!!! I am a sugar fanatic so I thought the sugar wasn't unreasonable until I ate it!! Maybe because I was eating it with a meal, I don't know, but it was more of a dessert. I also did not whip the sweet potatoes. I just boiled them an cut into chunks. I will make this again, but next time I am cutting the brown sugar in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this recipe for thanksgiving with a few changes. I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp salt. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is fool proof. Flavor is fantastic. My husband isn't a sweet potato lover and he went back for seconds. Fabulous and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I found this recipe and made this for Thanksgiving 2009. This year people were asking if I was making it again. I absolutely love this sweet potato recipe. The only alteration that I make to it is to use about half of the orange juice recommended and I add a swirl of Steen's Pure Cane Syrup before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I make this every year... I like to add a pecan mixture/glaze over the marshmallows too.... finely chopped pecans mixed with slightly burnt butter and mixed with a smidge of pumpkin pie spice... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
SO YUMMY!!! I will definitely be making this part of my holiday meals from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The orange juice definitely adds a nice touch. Next time try using the normal large marshmallows instead of the minis. Gently press them down INTO the potatoes so just the crowns of the marshmallows are exposed. As the potatoes bake the marshmallows will "melt" right into the sweets! YUMMY! Pull it out of the oven when the tops of the marshmallows are golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States