Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by LWS07
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I've made this dish several times for different groups of people and everyone likes it. This year I tried it with a 1/4 cup sugar instead (half the amount called for) and everyone still loved it or liked it more, so I'm sticking with that change. I'm also a fan of baking the dish in a 9x9 pan because it fits in that size and isn't spread as thin that way. For that size pan, I only ended up using approx 4 oz of mini marshmallows (1/4th of a 1 lb bag), and that was covering the entire top. I recommend boiling the potatoes longer than called for by a few minutes, just to be sure all are completely baked through. I had a large, awkward-sized one that didn't get completely baked through and it was a pain when it came to mashing it up. One other tip is to serve this dish immediately after it's out of the oven. Otherwise some of the marshmallows deflate and the dish doesn't look as good, although it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great Recipe!! Made It For Thanksgiving this year nothing but raves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysiam
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was amazing! I baked the sweet potatoes rather than boiling them. I halved the OJ. I used 1.5 tsps cinnamon and pinch of nutmeg. I also used real butter (it was a holiday after all). This was a treat! Thanks for the recipe. Just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is the first time I made this and Oh my goodness I am hooked. I will keep this recipe for years to come, Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammyscooking03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I'm not sure if it would have been different if I used fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned but using canned it was 4 stars. Alot of people complained that it was too sweet but in my opinion it wasn't sweet enough. lol. There also wasn't enough to fit in that sized pan so I mixed up a little more. I added the marshmallows throughout because I'm pregnant and have been craving them and I think that saved this for me. haha. Everyone else said it was great but there was still some on some left on their plates. I'll probably make this again with more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
WONDERFULL AND EEEEEASY. I made it with canned yams (one 40 oz can) and subbed part of the OJ with chrushed pineapple in juice. I couldnt stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was very easy and a quick dish to prepare, made it for my holiday pot luck at work and everyone loved it. I used canned yams instead and it came out delicious!! I made it the night before, warmed it the next day, add marshmellows with the broiler, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My daughter LOVED this. I thought it was too sweet - but I will definitely make it again for her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Hallelujah- My kids ate this!! Even without the marshmellows we all loved this recipe. I have been trying to get them to eat sweet potatoes for years!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Thank you Stephanie....very yummy! I did add a pinch of nutmeg and some fresh chopped pineapple & it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States