Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
this was my first time making a sweet potato dish and it's a keeper! i also followed other reviews and used 1/2 to 2/3 cup white sugar and brown sugar - it had just the right amount of sweetness with this change. i also cut down on the amount of butter (to 1/4 approximately) and it still came out fine. the pecan/brown sugar topping is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This year I spent Thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family, but they had never had sweet potatoes. I took these over to their house, and they loved them! I also added marshmellows on top 1/2 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My review is mixed. I was sure this was going to be a hit because with all that butter, sugar, vanilla, and pecans, how could you go wrong? My mom said it was nothing special and I was literally shocked. On the other hand, my sister and niece ate half a pan. They thought it was out of this world. I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Only had walnuts so used them instead of pecans but other than that, followed recipe exactly except used only 3/4 cup of sugar) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit. The only changes that I made was using fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned and I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This thanksgiving, mom was recovering from knee replacement surgery, so our family of 14 made supper pot-luck style. I made this recipe, double, except for the sugar which I cut back to 1-1/2 cups, and I only made a single sized batch of the topping to cover a 9x13 pan. Baked it 40 minutes. My family gobbled it up and want it for Christmas supper now. Also, looks like pot-luck T-Day supper is the new tradition! Mom loved being served for a change! ;^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I tried this on Thanksgiving and we loved it. My hubby isn't a big fan of sweet potatoes but ate this all up. I'm still getting compliments 2 days after Thanksgiving! I did use two cans of the smaller size canned yams instead. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I was nervous when I was making it that it would be too sweet, but it was just fabulous! I used 8 small fresh sweet potatoes and baked them in the oven for about an hour and 15 minutes and then scooped out the inside. I also doubled the topping. I will definitely be making this again- and not just on Thanksgiving!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
U cant get better then this. My husbands Grandmother asked ME for this recipe. Now as far as I know NO ONE has compared to her cooking according to everyone in the family. U know u reached success for Thanksgiving when Grandma asks for the recipe. WOOHOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is soooo good. We all loved it. I used 3/4 cup white suger instead of 1 cup. My family just loved it. This will be a regular at Thanksgiving at my house. Thanks for the great recipe, Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States