Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have made this recipe several times, and it is always a hit! Sometimes I substitute 2/3 cup heavy cream for the 1/3 cup milk and 1/3 cup butter. I also add a whiff of nutmeg and cinnamon. This is a fail proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Love this and get compliments when I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is always a hit. I used 3/4 cup of sugar since I used a 40 and a 20 ounce can but I think I would cut it down to 1/2 cup if I were using less potato. I think adding brown sugar concoction to the top makes them too sweet so I use graham cracker crumbs and bake then top with crumbled glazed pecans and marshmallows during the last 10 minutes of baking. (If you are using glazed pecans do not put them on and bake it for the entire 50 minutes it ends up being a chewy awful mess they only need 10 minutes or so with the marshmallows)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I only gave this three stars because I had to alter it some. It is a good base recipe but like others I found it very sweet. I even double the sweet potatoes and left the sugar(which I did half brown half white) at the same amount! I also added spices(cinnamon, ground ginger,and nutmeg)and marshmallows on top . I did not double the topping mixture, thank goodness cause I had more than enough. Cant imagine making this with 1/2 the sweet potatoes, the topping would have been completely overpowering. But I loved it with my alterations and this topping is so good! I am going to put it on apples or peaches next time for a crisp:) p.s I loved it cold:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Perfect every time! I forgot to use milk once, and it came out just as good. Nobody noticed the difference. I have also tried walnuts instead of pecans, and pecans/walnuts mixed...and it all works. It's pretty difficult to go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Topo Gigia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Was delicious but a little thin and goopey. I would use two cans of potatoes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LastingLove82

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have been making this for a couple years now and it is the best sweet potato casserole. The only thing I change is that I add oats to the topping mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this today because I couldn't find any fresh sweet potatoes that were big enough. WOW is all I can say - this is delicious! Will make again and again. You would never know the potatoes came from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovesgoodcookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
MMMMMM! Just like my moms. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Easy bake! Thanks for the recipe! I've been using it for 3 years now! Sometimes I add more flour + sugar to make it more like a cake texture! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Her

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States