Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I found this recipe on this site a few yrs ago and made it for my family: everyone loved it! I do tweak it a bit but it is a great basic recipe. I went through a divorce and didn't think about this recipe for a long time. Now I am so glad I found it again. Made it for my father and family and it was a super success...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was amazing! I did cut the sugar in half, in both situations and the butter and pecans as well. And I increased the cooking time to 50 min because I doubled the recipe. But wow, my whole family ( 11) loved it! No small feat there! It went great with our Easter Ham! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
DELICIOUS! just the way the recipes is No changes for us...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I make this every Thanksgiving for our church dinner for 300 people. They all love it. I love how easy it is to make. I adjust the recipe and make 6 batches, each for 50 servings. It always turns out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I just moved back to CA from NC and wanted to share a little bit of the south with my non-southern family. :) It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and it was insisted that I bring it for Christmas! I did cut the sugar in half and it was still really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! Even better than my mom's! This will be a new family tradition for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Love this recipe. I've taken it to work functions and other get togethers and frequently been asked for the recipe-- I just send them the link to this recipe. Very simple to create, too. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is every bit as good as everyone says but I can only give it 4 stars. First, WAY too much sugar. Half a cup is plenty. Second if you use canned sweet potatoes you don't need to cook until tender which actually is a plus. However, they do need to cook about 15-20 min longer in the oven otherwise it was too loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
wonderful. I used 3 medium sweet potatoes that I baked in the oven, much better than the canned ones. And the kids must have the marshmellows on top, but that is very good too. we have this every thanksgiving and Christmas and other times during the year as well. A family favorite and am always asked to bring it to gatherings....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious... just like my Southern grandmother used to make. Instead of using the canned sweet potatoes, I used some leftover baked sweet potatoes. It gave me a really great, custard-like potato base. I think I preferred that to the option of using the canned sweet potatoes. The topping is what makes this a treat... it's a side dish and a dessert. I keep vanilla sugar and used it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States