Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!!I did not use coconut or orange juice. I did add a couple of small marshmellows on top thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
this was the best! i made it for our family thanksgiving dinner, and everyone loved it!! it will definitely be making repeat showings at our house. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was really good but a little dry. I think using canned pumpkin would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe!! I was looking for something different when I realized I forgot to purchase marshmellows for my usual sweet potato casserole. For this recipe, I baked the sweet potatos the night before, left out the orange zest, and used walnuts instead of pecans. This will be served alongside our other traditional favorites from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious. I added some crushed pineapple to it, too. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I cut downjust a tad on the sugar and left out the coconut. It was so sweet and delicious. Grown-ups raved that it was so good, almost like dessert. I can't wait to eat some for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was AMAZING!! I left out the orange zest just because I didn't have an orange. Also, I only used about half of the topping - I'm going to try putting the rest of it on a frozen pumpkin pie. The only downside to this recipe is that I wanted to eat the whole dish at one sitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is the bomb! I truly have never had a better sweet potato dish. I LOVE the orange flavor from the orange peel. We grated them finely and it was super yummy. I used walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had handy. I would also point out for new cooks, the recipe does not say to peel the potatos after cooked, make sure you take the peels off before mashing! Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made this with less sugar and butter, and it turned out great. I peeled the potatoes, cut them into cubes and boiled them instead of baking them, then added 1/4 cup of melted light butter, 1/4 cup of milk, 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of white sugar, the eggs, vanilla and salt. I omitted the coconut and orange and skipped the topping all together. Instead, I just mixed 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and the chopped pecans into the potatoes. I didn't even bother with the electric mixer, just mashed the potatoes, added the other ingredients, and stirred it all up with a wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well I followed the recipe without making any changes and it was delicious. It's already been requested for thanksgiving this year and I think it will become a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States