Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Big hit. Thanks for giving me the option to omit the coconut. This casserole almost stole the show from the turkey and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin' Mom?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is really good, I only gave it three stars because it is way to sweet. Cut the topping in half and it will be much better, the rest of the recipe is really good. I added cinnamon and nutmeg into the potato mixture and my family loved it. I'll make it again, but next time I'll reduce the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I made it but omitted the eggs and added 2 TBSP of Bourbon! If you can find a recipe for Praline Pecans, use that then chop those for the topping! YUMMM!! Dang, now I am hungry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I was wanting a healthier version so I just didn't add the 1 cup of white sugar or the white flour. I enjoyed the orange zest and used some huge chinks of cocnut from the health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I did add the coconut- wow was it good. I may try without next time just to see the difference. But if you at all like coconut- or want to try something a little different- try the coconut and it wont be the average sweet potato casserole. I agree with someone else- I may cut down on egg, too. And to keep it from being too sweet- every time I measured- I left out just a little bit of sugar- as not to truly mess with the integrity of the recipe- just a matter of taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Great recipe but i wouldn't add the sugar as the sweet potatoes have a great flavor regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The orange flavor is very good but quite strong in case you don't care for orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I agree that the toppings for this recipe could be halved and still taste great. I also thought with the orange zest that a little ginger root would be great so I added some (didn't measure it, sorry) and it was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
OMG!!!, this is a good recipe. I had the good sense to cut the white sugar down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I wish I'd cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. but OMG!!!, this is a good recipe. I also used honey roasted pecans. 5 stars the way it is, 6 stars if cut back on the sugar a little. Ohyea, I did use the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this with my Christmas dinner, and it was a hit! The orange zest really gave it an added flavor that was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States