Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe is great. I added Orange Extract instead of orange zest and it gives it that a hint of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! It was gone really fast. I even doubled it! This was so easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am not a fan of this dish because we usually just make it from the can. What a difference it makes to make it home made...YUMMO The only thing I did different was omit the nuts, coconut, and crumble topping. I just did the traditional marsh mellows on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving to RAVE reviews. It was like eating dessert - yum! I will be keeping and sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a big hit! I made it with and without coconut and preferred it without....but it's super yummy either way. The orange zest is a great idea! Thank you Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bizzle's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I omit the pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a big hit! I used less sugar than it called for, I used 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the topping and just 1 egg based on other reviews. It was very good even without the orange zest and pecans (I didn't have either on hand). Eveyone loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Everyone loved this! I only served it because I thought we ought to have all the Thanksgiving dishes. EVeryone told me not to bother and said they didn't like sweet potatoes anyway. Then a few people tried this dish and loved it, so then everyone tried it and loved it. This dish is not a gooey-sweet recipe. The potatoes have a nice flavor, almost a roasted taste, and the streusel is yummy but not overwhelming. GREAT dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was a big success at Thanksgiving. The only change I would make is the amount of sugar in the recipe. I think it could be reduced by 1/4 to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I over cooked my sweet potatoes and came here to find a alternate recipe and I came across this one. I used 12 sweet pototes so I had to make the measurements 4 times as much. It turned out really good. The thing is next time I will not use the orange zest. I didn't even use a full tablespoon and it was too much of an orange flavor. I would also add cinnamon and nutmug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States