Sweet Potato Carrot Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Having a savory sweet potato cassarole was a nice change and liked the flavor of the carrots. The raw garlic is a bit 'sharp' though and if I made again, would saute the garlic first. Did add a tiny bit of brown sugar to the topping and it was a nice touch/contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
2 stars because it was getting in my vegetables but this wasn't doing it for me. the flavor was all wrong. I guess I like my carrots and sweet potatoes seperate and plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
A great way to get rid of all the sweet potatoes from the garden we had lying around! Loved the addition of herbs. I dont recall substituting a thing. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is great! I didn't have fresh bread crumbs so I used cornflakes - slightly crushed. A real keeper especially for those people who don't like the really sweet sweet potato casseroles that abound at Thanksgiving. I just mashed with a potato masher - no need for the food processor or blender. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T. Nobody liked it. Next time I will stick to traditional sweet potatos. Carrot addition was o.k., I think the garlic ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed this and love having a yummy vegetable on hand to warm up and snack on, instead of just raw veggies. My husband thought this was just so-so, which is why I compromised with 4 stars. I used oat bran for the topping since it has cholesterol-lowering benefits. Also, the recipe wasn't clear on how to cook the potatoes and carrots and I tend to like very specific directions. So, I put the veggies in the saucepan and covered them with water and boiled them until tender. This seemed to be the correct method as far as I could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Based on what I had on hand I used 6 sweet potatoes, 1 lb baby carrots 5 garlic cloves, and skipped the honey. Then I doubled the amount of topping to 1.5 cups breadcrumbs, 1/2 cup pecans, 3 T. butter, and 4 T. parsley. Also I steamed the carrots and sweet potato rather than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Delightful. I used granola on top instead of the bread crumb recipe and added a some golden raisins in a dish on the side as another topping option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have made this several times at christmas and thanksgiving and my family loves it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States