Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
There are two good reasons why this recipe is a 5-star meal: First, at any given time, the average health-conscious person has all of these ingredients in her kitchen, which makes it so convenient. And second, the flavors and spices are spot on! I've made it several times as is and I feel like I can now mention my own twists on the original. One, replace the butter with equal amount coconut oil for a healthier fat and complimentary flavor with the ginger. Two, don't puree it! It is such a pretty stew as is! And three, the last five minutes of simmering, throw in about 4 cups of fresh, chopped spinach for a boost in color and nutrients. Take my word for it--this recipe is worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Delicious! I didn't puree it, instead I just made it like a stew. Everyone who tasted it thought it was great. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This soup is sooooo great! I made it vegan by using olive oil instead of butter and also omitted the yogurt. I also cut salt by using low-sodium broth, and found that I did not need to add salt to season when it was done. Lovely, hearty, and filling. I really liked the mild sweetness with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was very good, although I made just a few changes. I used ginger powder, because I didn't have fresh, and I substituted olive oil for butter. I also added several cloves of garlic, minced, and a few parsnips I had left over, and I did NOT puree the soup, because I do not like the texture of pureed soup. I served it over a mixture of brown and white basmati rice. This made a wonderful, hearty, vegan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was really yummy! I was a little skeptical mixing apples, onions, carrots, sweet potatoes and lentils together, but it turned out be so good and hearty. I followed the recipe to the letter and did not deviate on any of the measurements. My husband is not a big soup person, but he loved it so much, he went back for seconds! My kids, ages 5 & 6, loved it too! The plain yogurt added a really good kick, although it probably would have been good with sour cream as well. I will definitely keep this recipe in the file. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I always put carrots in my lentil soup so when I saw this used apples and sweet potato it sounded good. I made a big batch using the whole lb package of those grey-green lentils and increased other items accordingly. I didnt puree it. Left other ingrediants in chunks which is helpful to know for those without a blender. The family wants me to make lots more of it this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Love this recipe...so unique by adding the apple. I didn't have red lentils so I used green and I added some red chillies to give it an extra kick. It is very comforting and filing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESIJEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so good that I didn't want anyone else to eat it but me! I made it for my roommates and they all raved. I made it just like the recipe, and served it with yogurt and a sprinkle of paprika for a nice look Nest time I make it I might add more apple though. It would probably bee great with sour cream too. I also served them with a side of grilled polenta slices, I feel like the soup would be good with something crunchy to eat along with it. All in all I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESIJEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
A keeper! This was better than expected. I used olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of veg. broth and cream instead of yogurt. Great for a middle eastern or indian dinner party. Will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This soup is awesome! Much better than I expected. I followed the recipe for the most part. I did substitue olive oil for the butter and powdered ginger for the fresh. I also could not find red lentils, so I used the green. The color of the soup was not appealing, but the taste more than made up for it. I will try harder next time to find the red lentils, just to make the appearance better. My husband loved this too and asked for it again tonight. Off to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States