Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Just made this and love it! Only changes: I used half sweet potatoes and half regular potatoes, also 2 cloves of garlic and no ginger. I didn't puree, I just mashed a bit when done cooking. I also added a container of cooking cream after I mashed, and 3 cups of cut fresh spinach for the last 5 minutes. YUMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
MARVELOUS!!!!! I made it almost as the recipe except I added 2 star anise pods for part of the cooking time and a generous amount of chilli seeds. I didn't have paprika in my pantry. I used more fresh ginger than the recipe, perhaps 2tsp. I pureed the stew and the consistency & colour was wonderful. I served it with a choice of white baguette or sourdough bread and a dollop of natural yoghurt for each bowl. I made it especially for a dinner party during winter and it was an hit. Thanks so much for this little keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was a little disappointed in the final product after reading the great reviews. Preparation was labor- intensive with chopping up potatoes and carrots (using nutribullet) . Family did not like taste of the blend of vegetables. However, was hearty, chunky and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Everything was amazing, and delicious until I added the cumin. It overwhelmed my soup, and I ended up throwing out the whole batch. I will make again sans cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TigerMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good. I puréed part then at serving time I tossed fresh baby spinach on top. Looked attractive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I remember cooking this and loving it with warm fresh moon bread (German round bread) during a very cold winter's lunch in Berlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It is just my husband and me. Normally when I cook, I freeze leftovers. This was SO GOOD that my husband had seconds and he begged me not to freeze the leftovers. The soup was gone by the next night. The soup was easy to make and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have cooked this soup twice. More of a bisque. Wonderful flavors. Easy to make. Company loves it when I serve it. And it can be eaten with most food restrictions. The puree gave it such a light, creamy and airy texture. Thank you for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellenross1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Had at a Christmas party and I loved it. I added coconut milk to my double batch. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States