Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Didn't puree it. Also didn't have an apple, so added a tablespoon of honey for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is my new favourite soup. So tasty and filling. I was making it for the first time so I didn't change anything except I left the skins on since it was being pureed anyway and also left out the salt because I pretty much always leave out the salt. It was fantastic as is and I will definitely be making this again. Probably many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have now made this several times and it is always a crowd pleaser! I usually use coconut oil instead of butter which has an added bonus of making it vegan. I also almost double the spices, reduce the salt, and if I don't have sweet potatoes on hand, I have used squash with great success! This soup is so versatile and loved by everyone I have seen try it. You won't be disappointed! Today I made a variation by adding red curry paste, coconut milk, and fresh cilantro... It was amazing! Sriracha also goes along nicely. I don't find the yogurt garnish adds much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Just made this and love it! Only changes: I used half sweet potatoes and half regular potatoes, also 2 cloves of garlic and no ginger. I didn't puree, I just mashed a bit when done cooking. I also added a container of cooking cream after I mashed, and 3 cups of cut fresh spinach for the last 5 minutes. YUMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
MARVELOUS!!!!! I made it almost as the recipe except I added 2 star anise pods for part of the cooking time and a generous amount of chilli seeds. I didn't have paprika in my pantry. I used more fresh ginger than the recipe, perhaps 2tsp. I pureed the stew and the consistency & colour was wonderful. I served it with a choice of white baguette or sourdough bread and a dollop of natural yoghurt for each bowl. I made it especially for a dinner party during winter and it was an hit. Thanks so much for this little keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was a little disappointed in the final product after reading the great reviews. Preparation was labor- intensive with chopping up potatoes and carrots (using nutribullet) . Family did not like taste of the blend of vegetables. However, was hearty, chunky and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Everything was amazing, and delicious until I added the cumin. It overwhelmed my soup, and I ended up throwing out the whole batch. I will make again sans cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TigerMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good. I puréed part then at serving time I tossed fresh baby spinach on top. Looked attractive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I remember cooking this and loving it with warm fresh moon bread (German round bread) during a very cold winter's lunch in Berlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States