Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is soooo good. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powder, I didn't have yogurt or sour cream but didn't miss it, might have been nice to have though. I used a stick blender to roughly purée it right in the pot. This would go very well with a hearty crusty bread and fresh butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I love this recipe! I have made it about 6 times since coming across the recipe a few months ago. The flavors are wonderful and it is so easy to make. I follow the recipe too a T, unless I have extra cooked vegetables in fridge to use up. Then, I just add them towards the end of the cooking process and puree them along with the other ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Oh my goodness, I expected this to be good but I was disappointed...it was AMAZING!!! Seriously, this is going down as one of my top soup recipes. (And I'm already considering making it again next week) Yum! Thanks so much original poster! Side note: I used coconut oil instead of butter and added fresh baby spinach in at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this soup last night and it was easy, fast, delicious and very filling! I also used ground ginger and added garlic to my soup, tasted great. I also recommend feta cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A wonderfully filling and healthy fall soup with a lovely mix of flavors. I recommend leaving the veggies, apple, and lentils as is and skipping the pureeing part. That makes it more like a stew than a soup but the texture is much better. Thanks for sharing, will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was delicious. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand. I used coconut oil instead of butter, dried ginger instead of fresh, and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also followed some other reviewers' suggestions and added a few cups of chopped spinach at the end and left everything chunky instead of pureeing it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This soup was easy to make, rich flavor and was a hit with our friends and family. The recipe does not need any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I halved the chili pepper, since I didn't want it too spicy, and that was perfect for me. I also went with powdered ginger, and only 1/4 tsp since it was not fresh ginger root. The mix of seasonings is perfect. The reviews were incredibly helpful. I didn't puree it (didn't want more to clean), but I think it would be really good pureed. It is a great one-pot dish, with incredible flavor. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it is! Also, I used butter because I ran out of my usual coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This soup tastes absolutely amazing! I made a few modifications, some on purpose and some accidentally, but the soup turned out exactly how I had hoped it would. I love my foods on the sweet side, so I omitted the salt. I'm not a huge fan of ginger except with sushi, so I omitted the ginger as well. I increased the serving size to 10 servings. I ended up putting in 1/3 + 1/4 cup of butter to saute the veggies and apples for the first step. I used approximately 2 small yellow onions, 1/4 of a sweet potato, 4 medium-large sized carrots, and 1 granny smith apple. I stirred and cooked this mixture for longer than 10 minutes, probably more like 20 min. Then, step 2 - I stirred in 2.5 cups of red lentils, omitting the ginger and salt, I added in the ground black pepper, cumin, chili powder, paprika, 2 fresh large garlic cloves and 5.5 cups of chicken broth (boiled water and chicken bouillon powder). I boiled the soup for 10 min, then turned the heat down to medium-high for another 20-30 min. Then I added in 2.5 cups of low-fat milk and 1 tablespoon of non-dairy creamer. I used a potato masher instead of a blender to mash the veggies and apple in the soup to make it a smoother consistency, but didn't want to make it a puree so I skipped the step with the blender. The soup turned out to be perfectly seasoned and sweet and just the right consistency, not too pureed and not too chunky. I was a bit skeptical of adding the cumin and chili powder, but am glad I did. What a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
"Hey, give this a taste." "Why did you make a whole pot of baby food?" "Yeah..." "Did you try adding the yogurt?" "Yup" "What about Sriracha sauce?" "...Now it tastes like baby food with Sriracha sauce." "Well then... know any hungry babies around here?" This recipe really needs something to give it some kick. Way too bland and boring. Points for being cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States