Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Every time I make this, people ask for the recipe. I use olive oil instead of butter, and I don't use the yogurt at the end -- it is great without it. I also add a couple extra apples. This soup is a vitamin powerhouse! This comes together really quickly if you feed the veggies and fruit into your food processor (obviously not if you don't plan on pureeing it). I thin it at the end with water as I don't like baby food consistency, and I top with croutons or peeled diced apple. There is so much flavor on this soup, and your house will smell like Fall heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNAJAYNE
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
What a beautifully simple recipe. The balance of salty, sweet & spice is perfect. For lower fat I reduced the the butter to 1 tablespoon and added 1 tablespoon of coconut oil. Next time I'll add a full cup of lentils because I love them. Used my immersion blender for a nice velvety texture. I'm adding this healthy soup to my weekly menu. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've been meaning to make this recipe for a while and finally did so for (Canadian) Thanksgiving. Made this exactly as stated and my guests were raving. I boiled the soup for over 30 minutes so perhaps more liquid evaporated than if it boiled for only 30 minutes. The only thing I might do a little different is add half a cup of broth at the end because I found the consistency with only 4 cups to be too thick for a soup. All-in-all: don't delay in making this tasty soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this tonight and everyone loved it! I subbed dry ginger for fresh and used broth from boiling cabbage to make golabki as my base. I did not purée the soup and threw some torn baby spinach in the bottom of the bowls, and yogurt on top..my family all commented on the unique flavour and healthy-factor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious! I used fresh ginger and Granny Smith apples. Definitely a keeper. I puréed and served with a dollop of Greek yogurt----very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The kids don't do spicy so I omitted the chili pepper. And instead of using a blender, I just used a masher and left it lumpy. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Wingfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used this as baby food for my 10 month old son -- great flavors that he and I both enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My friend made this and I was in heaven eating it! I asked her for the recipe. This soup is an amazing balance of flavours, really. Try it. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was absolutely great. I made both a veggie version and one with ground turkey. Both were excellent. THe mix of sweet and salty is really good. You can substitute garam masala for seasoning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This soup is amazing1 I actually liked it slightly mixed but not fully pureed. Great use of carrots you need to get rid of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States