Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I'll admit I did edit it a little, using olive oil instead of butter, adding the whole (14.5 oz) can of lentils, and substituting a bit of feta cheese instead of the yogurt. But the soup was delicious! Nice and thick, and very filling with a crusty slice of bread. A great healthy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I get excited about any recipe that is healthy and that can be shared by my whole family (me, my husband, and my 10 month-old son) without modifications. This recipe fits the bill. I ended up accidentally having to under-season it a bit when I realized too late that I was low on both paprika and chili powder, but that just made it more baby-friendly, and it still had enough flavor for the adults. My husband would probably have preferred this with some bacon sprinkled on top, but I thought it was great as a vegetarian soup. Definitely don't skip the yogurt on this one. I sometimes consider garnishes optional, but in this case the tanginess of the yogurt added necessary contrast to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Do yourself a favor, and MAKE THIS SOUP! I prepared this soup for our annual holiday progressive dinner. Since I usually provide the "soup" portion of the dinner, I wanted to try something a little unique. I was very worried this recipe would be a little odd to most people (and my husband thought I was crazy for trying it on a group of 15 adults), but everyone loved it! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and did not puree the soup. However, since I made the soup the night before the event, the soup kind of pureed itself a bit after sitting for 24 hours. Like the others, I did not find red lentils, so I just used what was available. When I make this again, I will add more lentils - they are so good! I doubled the recipe and was so glad I did - - I had yummy leftovers for 2 days. MY REVISIONS: I sprinkled a bit of pumpkin pie spice on my bowl of soup, which was very yummy! Also - sorry vegetarians, but I added a pound of crumbled sage sausage to give the soup a little more oomph. A great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Whole family loved this soup! Followed the recipe as written and have made it many times. A go to in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I am not a vegetarian, but the combination of these ingredients intrigued me. I have to say it was fabulous. Did not puree, and used chicken broth and light yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made a couple small changes but overall I really enjoyed this soup! I subbed ground ginger (1/4 tsp) because I didn't have fresh and green lentils since I didn't have red. I also added 2 medium russet potatoes (peeled and cubed), 1 can of (no-salt added) corn and 1 can of white beans (drained and rinsed). Last but not least, I'm a 'chunky soup' kinda gal, so I skipped the pureeing step all together. It was a very hearty, filling soup with great flavor. Definitely planning to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
We love this recipe as is. I did not have yogurt this time and it was fine without it. A great winter warm-up. Great with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Four stars because I want to save 5 for the most amazing recipes. Very very easy to do and a great combination of flavors - very well balanced. What is amazing is how healthy it is and how easy it is to make. I estimated out the calories and using 6 servings, it is only 300 calories per bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe- I just happened to have all of the ingredients on-hand, which made it even better. The soup was very bright and delicious, and perfect for a late fall dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
pureed with some chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States