Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It was delicious! I did not have sweet potatoes so I used the red potatoes I had on hand. My 7 yr old son said it tasted like squash. My 12 year old daughter thought it was good but nothing to write home about. I THOROUGHLY enjoyed considering I love home cooked meals that taste like something from the restaurant. Give it a try...it's really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpraisin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It was the perfect soup to make on a rainy Sunday..today. I used 1/8 cup olive oil and 1/8 cup of butter and no salt.. my hubby ate two huge bowls of it...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
THIS IS A MUST TRY RECIPE! The only changes I made were to use regular lentils/organic, substituted 1/2 t. powdered ginger(but would use fresh next time), and 4 chicken bouillon cubes with 4 cups boiling water instead of the vegetable broth. I did not 'add water to thin the soup' nor garnish with yogurt. This is a truly wonderful - hearty soup & it's super healthy as it does not call for cream as so many creamy soups do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
MMM this was yummy and simple! I threw in some celery since I had it in the fridge, and used cayanne powder instead of chili and didn't use cumin (i didn't have it) It was so easy just chopping up some veggies and throwing them in! I even left the skins on (excluding the apple) so it couldn't have been easier.. Topped it off with a dollip of sour cream instead of yogurt.. Will totally make it again :) Those who said it wasn't worth the effort REALLY need to get an immersion blender, those things are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I really loved this soup! Very healthy and filling. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything. Next time will do the same, no changes are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written....My husband loved it and I was surprised. I didn't puree but opted to serve as a stew and it was so pretty. Very hearty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was excellent. It was easy and it has good flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! I only had one sweet potato, and I added some ground ancho chili, and I didn't puree it, but it was excellent nonetheless. Healthy, nourishing and sooooo tasty. All the ingredients worked together very well. I did use less butter than called for, but the taste was wonderful. Thank you for such a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delish! Adults & kids liked this. Followed the recipie, just used more sweet potato, carrots and the red lentils. Used split red lentils - they cook faster. Oh, and low sodium chicken broth instead of veg. Used my immersion/stick blender to blend everything together right in the pot. Topped with some crumbled feta and/or Greek yogurt. Easy to make and will make again! Yummy in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States