Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A friend of mine made this recipe awhile back, and I thought it was delicious! I think she may have added an extra apple though, because my end result wasn't as apple tasting. I originally planned on leaving it chunky, but I pureed a little bit just to see what it tasted like, and it was really good, but I also wanted some chunkiness, so I pureed half of it, then left the other half chunky. I also added a pinch of cinnamon. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I would recommend keeping the soup thicker instead of adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Very nice combination of flavors. I added 2 stalks of celery, only because i had them in the fridge, increased the apples to 1 1/2 for sweetness, since my carrots weren't as sweet as i would have liked them. I tried both versions, stew and Puree. The Puree was by far the better choice. You get all of the flavors at once. Add a squeeze of lime juice, chopped spinach before serving... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This soup is amazing! I would make this soup again and again. Not only is it a wonderful side with dinner, a great main dish, but we also chilled it and used it as a dip the next day for apples at snack time. Absolutely wonderful! The first time I made it, it did not take the noted prep and cook times. It took far far longer. So be prepared, relax, and step away as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is scrumptious and I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes, but the favors in this soup are perfect. I halved the spices, because I don't like food too spicy. My apples were a little small, so I added two. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made modifications based on the following: I looked high and low and could not find red lentils anywhere AND didn't have any chicken broth on hand. SO I substituted black beans and plain old water. And guess what?! It was still scrumptious!! That spicy undertaste with the sweetness of the apple and sweet potato was wonderful. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Dancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Loved this! Didn't peel veggies or puree and used powdered ginger and green lentiles. Will def be making this again, and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! In order to make it more healthy, I replace the butter with coconut oil. Together with the apple this fragrance and touch of sweetness adds such an amazing offset to the spices. It just dances in your mouth! This is a winter favourite in my family that I make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This soup is so delicious. Use only a couple tbsp of butter and then a tbsp or so of coconut oil. Makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States