Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was really yummy! I was a little skeptical mixing apples, onions, carrots, sweet potatoes and lentils together, but it turned out be so good and hearty. I followed the recipe to the letter and did not deviate on any of the measurements. My husband is not a big soup person, but he loved it so much, he went back for seconds! My kids, ages 5 & 6, loved it too! The plain yogurt added a really good kick, although it probably would have been good with sour cream as well. I will definitely keep this recipe in the file. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Love this recipe...so unique by adding the apple. I didn't have red lentils so I used green and I added some red chillies to give it an extra kick. It is very comforting and filing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Delicious! I didn't puree it, instead I just made it like a stew. Everyone who tasted it thought it was great. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Can't stop making this! It's now in my weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Surprisingly, outrageously good. Even my picky men were repeatedly raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This soup is delicious! Husband who doesn't like carrots or sweet potatoes really enjoyed this recipe. I added a bit more seasoning at the end (not much) and used a little more apple, but followed the recipe as stated. It is very easy to make - just cut up vegetables & apples and boil until mushy. A hand blender makes it even easier. I added a good amount of water when blending to thin it out a bit... but the soup remained flavorful. This makes a wonderful fall or winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made a three serving portion of this recipe and think it is fantastic. I enjoy thick creamy soups and appreciate it's healthy ingredients. The only two modifications I made was to omit the salt because I used two vegetable boullian cubes to create the vegetable broth, and I used some variety of brown lentils. A very inexpensive and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESIJEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so good that I didn't want anyone else to eat it but me! I made it for my roommates and they all raved. I made it just like the recipe, and served it with yogurt and a sprinkle of paprika for a nice look Nest time I make it I might add more apple though. It would probably bee great with sour cream too. I also served them with a side of grilled polenta slices, I feel like the soup would be good with something crunchy to eat along with it. All in all I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESIJEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe tasted wonderful, was inexpensive and easy to make! Everyone thought it was such a delicious and unique combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
followed the recipe exactly and it came out great, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States