Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was excellent. It was easy and it has good flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! I only had one sweet potato, and I added some ground ancho chili, and I didn't puree it, but it was excellent nonetheless. Healthy, nourishing and sooooo tasty. All the ingredients worked together very well. I did use less butter than called for, but the taste was wonderful. Thank you for such a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delish! Adults & kids liked this. Followed the recipie, just used more sweet potato, carrots and the red lentils. Used split red lentils - they cook faster. Oh, and low sodium chicken broth instead of veg. Used my immersion/stick blender to blend everything together right in the pot. Topped with some crumbled feta and/or Greek yogurt. Easy to make and will make again! Yummy in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow! What a savory, hearty winter soup. Wife said it was her favorite soup to date. I had to use chicken broth in lieu of vegetable broth. I added a potato and left the skins on to keep more nutrition locked in, nobody noticed since it all ended up pureed. Also used vanilla flavored greek yogurt. I think plain would have been better. Really healthy except for the sodium. I think I would hunt down some low sodium vegetable broth next time. Really left me full too with all those complex carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Only had one sweet potato, so that's what I used. Best soup I've ever made! Really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Absolute favorite soup! Kids like it it, and my husband and I both love this. I stick to the recipe usually except I add a heaping 1/2 tsp of garam masala and use homemade chicken stock instead of veggie broth. My husband likes it spicy, so he adds a generous helping of cayenne pepper (and/or curry paste) to add some extra heat to his. This is a delicious and flexible recipe - a little more or less of something still works fine, as do regular brown lentils and ground ginger. Have some extra red pepper - throw it in etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
A great soup for chilly winter evenings! The only changes I made were to use olive oil instead of butter, & I used an immersion mixer to puree the soup (rather than trying to dump hot soup in batches between a standard blender & the soup pot). The immersion blender really is a life-saver in recipes like this! I served this soup as a side; the rest of the meal included roasted carrots, parsnips, & brussels sprouts, brown basmati rice which I cooked in veggie broth, & boneless chicken thighs baked in a dijon-&-maple sauce. I'll be serving this yummy soup as a side in the future, & also for lunches with a hunk of hearty bread. So healthy, & the seasonings enhance the warming effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkyEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
As suggested, I did NOT puree and I added 4 cups of spinach (chopped) 5 minutes before serving. I also substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. This soup is very quick and easy to make--I already had all the ingredients on hand. The flavors are just right, especially with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. It is my new favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States