Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This soup tastes absolutely amazing! I made a few modifications, some on purpose and some accidentally, but the soup turned out exactly how I had hoped it would. I love my foods on the sweet side, so I omitted the salt. I'm not a huge fan of ginger except with sushi, so I omitted the ginger as well. I increased the serving size to 10 servings. I ended up putting in 1/3 + 1/4 cup of butter to saute the veggies and apples for the first step. I used approximately 2 small yellow onions, 1/4 of a sweet potato, 4 medium-large sized carrots, and 1 granny smith apple. I stirred and cooked this mixture for longer than 10 minutes, probably more like 20 min. Then, step 2 - I stirred in 2.5 cups of red lentils, omitting the ginger and salt, I added in the ground black pepper, cumin, chili powder, paprika, 2 fresh large garlic cloves and 5.5 cups of chicken broth (boiled water and chicken bouillon powder). I boiled the soup for 10 min, then turned the heat down to medium-high for another 20-30 min. Then I added in 2.5 cups of low-fat milk and 1 tablespoon of non-dairy creamer. I used a potato masher instead of a blender to mash the veggies and apple in the soup to make it a smoother consistency, but didn't want to make it a puree so I skipped the step with the blender. The soup turned out to be perfectly seasoned and sweet and just the right consistency, not too pureed and not too chunky. I was a bit skeptical of adding the cumin and chili powder, but am glad I did. What a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
"Hey, give this a taste." "Why did you make a whole pot of baby food?" "Yeah..." "Did you try adding the yogurt?" "Yup" "What about Sriracha sauce?" "...Now it tastes like baby food with Sriracha sauce." "Well then... know any hungry babies around here?" This recipe really needs something to give it some kick. Way too bland and boring. Points for being cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
What great favors. I always follow the recipe as written the fist time I make it and then make "my version". Not any changes wil be made for this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Extremely easy to make and delicious to boot. Followed directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really liked this! Since I have TMJD I have to eat softer or pureed foods and this one really filled me up! Perfect mixture of sweet and spicy - and adding greek yogurt on top added a hint of sour. I did use red beans since I couldn't find any lentils at all at my normal grocery store. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This soup is amazing. I used half the salt and regular lentils instead of red. Otherwise I followed it exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A friend of mine made this recipe awhile back, and I thought it was delicious! I think she may have added an extra apple though, because my end result wasn't as apple tasting. I originally planned on leaving it chunky, but I pureed a little bit just to see what it tasted like, and it was really good, but I also wanted some chunkiness, so I pureed half of it, then left the other half chunky. I also added a pinch of cinnamon. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I would recommend keeping the soup thicker instead of adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Very nice combination of flavors. I added 2 stalks of celery, only because i had them in the fridge, increased the apples to 1 1/2 for sweetness, since my carrots weren't as sweet as i would have liked them. I tried both versions, stew and Puree. The Puree was by far the better choice. You get all of the flavors at once. Add a squeeze of lime juice, chopped spinach before serving... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This soup is amazing! I would make this soup again and again. Not only is it a wonderful side with dinner, a great main dish, but we also chilled it and used it as a dip the next day for apples at snack time. Absolutely wonderful! The first time I made it, it did not take the noted prep and cook times. It took far far longer. So be prepared, relax, and step away as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States