Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Very nice combination of flavors. I added 2 stalks of celery, only because i had them in the fridge, increased the apples to 1 1/2 for sweetness, since my carrots weren't as sweet as i would have liked them. I tried both versions, stew and Puree. The Puree was by far the better choice. You get all of the flavors at once. Add a squeeze of lime juice, chopped spinach before serving... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This soup is amazing! I would make this soup again and again. Not only is it a wonderful side with dinner, a great main dish, but we also chilled it and used it as a dip the next day for apples at snack time. Absolutely wonderful! The first time I made it, it did not take the noted prep and cook times. It took far far longer. So be prepared, relax, and step away as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is scrumptious and I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes, but the favors in this soup are perfect. I halved the spices, because I don't like food too spicy. My apples were a little small, so I added two. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made modifications based on the following: I looked high and low and could not find red lentils anywhere AND didn't have any chicken broth on hand. SO I substituted black beans and plain old water. And guess what?! It was still scrumptious!! That spicy undertaste with the sweetness of the apple and sweet potato was wonderful. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Loved this! Didn't peel veggies or puree and used powdered ginger and green lentiles. Will def be making this again, and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! In order to make it more healthy, I replace the butter with coconut oil. Together with the apple this fragrance and touch of sweetness adds such an amazing offset to the spices. It just dances in your mouth! This is a winter favourite in my family that I make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This soup is so delicious. Use only a couple tbsp of butter and then a tbsp or so of coconut oil. Makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Great soup! Will definitely make again! I used green lentils and add a bit more fresh ginger. I added shredded ham to my husband 's bowl, he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
this was awesome!! i substituted coconut oil for the butter to make it entirely plant based. this was delicious!! we had it with out the yogurt and to be honest, i didn't feel i was missing anything. thanks for the delicious healthy recipe :) my husband requested cornbread to go along with it, since that seemed to pair well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States