Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
What great favors. I always follow the recipe as written the fist time I make it and then make "my version". Not any changes wil be made for this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Extremely easy to make and delicious to boot. Followed directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really liked this! Since I have TMJD I have to eat softer or pureed foods and this one really filled me up! Perfect mixture of sweet and spicy - and adding greek yogurt on top added a hint of sour. I did use red beans since I couldn't find any lentils at all at my normal grocery store. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This soup is amazing. I used half the salt and regular lentils instead of red. Otherwise I followed it exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A friend of mine made this recipe awhile back, and I thought it was delicious! I think she may have added an extra apple though, because my end result wasn't as apple tasting. I originally planned on leaving it chunky, but I pureed a little bit just to see what it tasted like, and it was really good, but I also wanted some chunkiness, so I pureed half of it, then left the other half chunky. I also added a pinch of cinnamon. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I would recommend keeping the soup thicker instead of adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Very nice combination of flavors. I added 2 stalks of celery, only because i had them in the fridge, increased the apples to 1 1/2 for sweetness, since my carrots weren't as sweet as i would have liked them. I tried both versions, stew and Puree. The Puree was by far the better choice. You get all of the flavors at once. Add a squeeze of lime juice, chopped spinach before serving... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This soup is amazing! I would make this soup again and again. Not only is it a wonderful side with dinner, a great main dish, but we also chilled it and used it as a dip the next day for apples at snack time. Absolutely wonderful! The first time I made it, it did not take the noted prep and cook times. It took far far longer. So be prepared, relax, and step away as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is scrumptious and I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes, but the favors in this soup are perfect. I halved the spices, because I don't like food too spicy. My apples were a little small, so I added two. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made modifications based on the following: I looked high and low and could not find red lentils anywhere AND didn't have any chicken broth on hand. SO I substituted black beans and plain old water. And guess what?! It was still scrumptious!! That spicy undertaste with the sweetness of the apple and sweet potato was wonderful. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States