Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made it in the crockpot, but can't see the flavors changing much using it. Rather sweet potato & carrot soup than lentil- though I should have known with only a half cup of lentils needed. Just not for me, even after waiting for the flavors to develop the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good soup, but meh. Would've liked to see spices that complemented the apple in it. I also had to add lemon juice to brighten the flavour. It was pretty flat otherwise. Probably wouldn't make again, but I had all the ingredients on hand so it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesomely delicious! After reading some of the reviews and because of personal preference: replaced butter with coconut oil; did not peel anything; shredded the carrots and apple; used 3/4 cup lentils; 1/8 tsp powdered ginger in place of the fresh; no salt or chili powder; curry in place of cumin; cayenne in place of paprika; 2 cups vege broth, 2 cups chicken broth and 1 1/2 cup coconut milk in place of the 6 cups vege broth; and added fresh baby kale and spinach to the final product about 5 minutes before serving. I know this is a lot of changes, but would never have put this together without the original recipe posted here and that would be a shame! Thanks for sharing, zhidaoma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Delish!!! Was sweet and spicy excellence. As others suggested, I didnt blend- mostly out of laziness and also because I wanted some texture. Used coconut oil instead of butter and was out of cumin so increased chili powder and added some coriander seed instead. Also threw in some chili flakes because this house likes things spicy. Finally, because I want to empty the bag, I doubled the amount of lentils. I sort of think this recipe is foolproof. Either way, it was filling and tasty! Might forget about making dinner just so I can have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Probably one of the best soup recipes I've come across. This was excellent as is. Topped with feta cheese as suggested and served with a salad and some multigrain bread. Fantastic! Will definitely make again..and often!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Used homemade chicken stock and added 1 can of coconut milk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This soup is delicious. I didn't change anything. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was wonderful. The apple lent a nice sweetness. I added more broth to unthicken it and threw in about one and a half cups of frozen tomatoes (since they were thawed in my frig). Low cal and healthy. i'll make this again. I don't understand the 'baby food' comments, this is similar to any chunky creamy soup, without the dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Had this for dinner, and my two guys, who were a little skeptical about no meat or cheese in what was for dinner, both gobbled it down. Like a lot of the other reviews said, I didn't do the puree, but just left it more like a stew. The carrots still had some firmness, which gave it a nice texture. Oh, and I used coconut oil instead of the butter to make it a little healthier. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved the taste, texture, color of this soup. I had to switch out the chili powder and paprika for more stomach friendly herbs do to sensitive stomach and digestion. Toasted ground coriander,cardamon, and cumin seeds worked fantastic in the right amount with a pinch of cayenne pepper as a replacement. I also used coconut oil instead of butter; in addition, along with the fresh ginger I added fresh mushed turmeric root cause I am lucky enough to have it at my local co-op for more added healing power. "Thank-you" for sharing this tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States