Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My family LOVES this dish! We have made it twice so far. It's delicious and healthy and my toddler eats it up. I like to add a can of pumpkin and I usually use a LOT more spices and a bit less salt than the original recipe calls for. Cumin, paprika, and chili powder are all good for you, so why not? I do it by taste but I would estimate that I tripled all three. We puree half of it to meld the flavors, but we prefer it more stew-like as well. We add Fage 0% Greek yogurt at the end. This is probably our favorite Autumn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MehMeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I tried it this evening and even my fussy three year old likes it! I really enjoy how the apple rounds out the flavour of the soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love indian food and this soup with a few tweeks tastes like a vegetable korma. I made a few changes. I didn't puree it, and I added a can of peas as well as doubling the onions and lentils. I also added a teaspoon of curry powder. I served it with a plain yogurt and sour cream mix. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This soup is very good. I increase the amount of lentils and do not blend the soup. I also use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious fall soup. I followed the other comments and didn't puree the soup and used ground ginger instead of fresh. Made great leftovers, too! Will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Added a heaping tablespoon of garlic, a dash of cinnamon and some nutmeg. I mashed the cooked veggies and ran a hand-blender through it. The consistency was varied, so it was nice. Instead of broth I used water and about a tablespoon of coriander (I like reeeally thin soup so I added about 8-10 cups of liquid to the veggies at the end and just let it simmer) Love the flavours. Awesome Fall soup. Adding it to my collection of soups for sure. I skimmed some of the other reviews and adore the idea of coconut milk (or maybe even coconut yogurt!?) in place of the real yogurt for us vegans to serve it with. Thank you for the recipe, Zhidaoma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I substituted oil for butter, regular potatoes for the sweet potatoes (what I had on hand) and a full can of cooked lentils for the dried (added them near the end of the simmer-time). Turned out great! Perfectly spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved it! A few substitutes due to what I had on hand and to make it vegan, green lentils for red, ginger powder for fresh, olive oil for butter, and it turned out delicious!!! I did puree it. Hearty, yummy, and easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor! I would advise fewer carrots and more apples, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States