Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved it! A few substitutes due to what I had on hand and to make it vegan, green lentils for red, ginger powder for fresh, olive oil for butter, and it turned out delicious!!! I did puree it. Hearty, yummy, and easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor! I would advise fewer carrots and more apples, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious and healthy, even my 8 month old loves this! Only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of vegetable. The plain yogurt when serving really makes it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The flavor of this soup was excellent...but the consistency turned out something like baby food and the family didn't care for that. I'm going to make it again and maybe only puree about 1/3 of it and leave the rest as is. Good soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is a favorite lunch. Quick easy and healthy. Greek yogurt on the top finishes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I've made this soup so many times and it continues to be a favorite! I never blend it up, I prefer a chunky soup. I like to add a little garlic to the veggies when they are cooking down and I go heavy on the chili powder, usually skip the yogurt. Served with a crunchy piece of bred to soak up the brother - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is my favorite soup right now! I just love it! Sometimes when I make it, I add about 1 lb of ground meat, which is fabulous for us non-vegetarians. Also this last time I made it, besides the ground beef, I added about 3 cups of chopped kale. It was wonderful! The kale not only added to the flavor, texture and nutrition, but make it look nice too. I only puree some of the veggies to make the broth thick, but didn't puree any of the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I love this soup! I made it for my mom when she had dental work done and couldn't chew. I wanted to make a hearty soup that wasn't creamy (she doesn't like anything creamy). I made it again a few days later for myself. I only blended half of the soup to make it thicken it, but still wanted some of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I LOVE THIS SOUP! Every time I make it I am surprised again at how fantastic it is. Ginger is really great in it, but if you don't have ginger the soup is still amazing. I only blend half of the soup, because I like chunks of veggies. And it's so pretty before blending. I also use more stock and cook longer (without changing the other ingredients) to get the lentils really soft. But all in all, I LOVE THIS SOUP! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly. Was WONDERFUL! Even my children love it. They used it for their cooking project at school. Everyone I make it for raves. A definite keeper. If you make a double batch, the leftovers warm up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States