Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was a great soup with fabulous texture. We pureed it because we wanted that texture, but I imagine that it would be good either way. We also used chicken broth because we didn't have any vegetable, and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have made this twice now. I LOVED it the first time but my second batch came out so-so. I finally realized the difference in batches. The first time I used only 1/4 cup of lentils, instead of the 1/2 cup suggested and honestly I feel like the fewer the lentils the more the apple flavor stood out, which I prefer. This is a great recipe and was super easy to make especially if you have an immersion blender. I will continue to make this all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Found the taste of cumin was too overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a pretty great soup. I was looking at other reviews that suggested leaving the soup as a stew, but decided that the pureed texture was slightly more appealing in this case. I added about 3/4 tsp of some good muchi curry powder, as well as a little cayenne for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmrscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was nice and pretty easy to make. I used 2 Tbs coconut oil in place of the 1/4 cup butter and didn't have any issues using half the fat called for. I pureed half of it and left the other half chunky as I'm not the biggest fan of pureed soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious. My husband was able to make it with very little oversight from me! We all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was so fantastic. I loved it. It felt good to eat something so yummy and so good for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as is, but used less butter. It is a superb, restaurant quality soup! Simple to make and was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mendelowitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I'll admit I did edit it a little, using olive oil instead of butter, adding the whole (14.5 oz) can of lentils, and substituting a bit of feta cheese instead of the yogurt. But the soup was delicious! Nice and thick, and very filling with a crusty slice of bread. A great healthy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I get excited about any recipe that is healthy and that can be shared by my whole family (me, my husband, and my 10 month-old son) without modifications. This recipe fits the bill. I ended up accidentally having to under-season it a bit when I realized too late that I was low on both paprika and chili powder, but that just made it more baby-friendly, and it still had enough flavor for the adults. My husband would probably have preferred this with some bacon sprinkled on top, but I thought it was great as a vegetarian soup. Definitely don't skip the yogurt on this one. I sometimes consider garnishes optional, but in this case the tanginess of the yogurt added necessary contrast to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States