Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow! What a savory, hearty winter soup. Wife said it was her favorite soup to date. I had to use chicken broth in lieu of vegetable broth. I added a potato and left the skins on to keep more nutrition locked in, nobody noticed since it all ended up pureed. Also used vanilla flavored greek yogurt. I think plain would have been better. Really healthy except for the sodium. I think I would hunt down some low sodium vegetable broth next time. Really left me full too with all those complex carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Only had one sweet potato, so that's what I used. Best soup I've ever made! Really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Absolute favorite soup! Kids like it it, and my husband and I both love this. I stick to the recipe usually except I add a heaping 1/2 tsp of garam masala and use homemade chicken stock instead of veggie broth. My husband likes it spicy, so he adds a generous helping of cayenne pepper (and/or curry paste) to add some extra heat to his. This is a delicious and flexible recipe - a little more or less of something still works fine, as do regular brown lentils and ground ginger. Have some extra red pepper - throw it in etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
A great soup for chilly winter evenings! The only changes I made were to use olive oil instead of butter, & I used an immersion mixer to puree the soup (rather than trying to dump hot soup in batches between a standard blender & the soup pot). The immersion blender really is a life-saver in recipes like this! I served this soup as a side; the rest of the meal included roasted carrots, parsnips, & brussels sprouts, brown basmati rice which I cooked in veggie broth, & boneless chicken thighs baked in a dijon-&-maple sauce. I'll be serving this yummy soup as a side in the future, & also for lunches with a hunk of hearty bread. So healthy, & the seasonings enhance the warming effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkyEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
As suggested, I did NOT puree and I added 4 cups of spinach (chopped) 5 minutes before serving. I also substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. This soup is very quick and easy to make--I already had all the ingredients on hand. The flavors are just right, especially with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. It is my new favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I loved this! Next time I make it, I'll have everything all chopped up (that took the longest time). I added about 1/2 c. water at the end. The flavor was perfect. And I added a dollop of non-fat plain greek yogurt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really nice stew. I didn't puree it, and added some leftover chickpeas I had in the fridge. Also put some coriander and garam masala in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Delicious! I cut the salt in half and doubled the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious.. Perfect blend of favors. Topped off with plain yogurt. Only had one sweet potato,so just added a few extra carrots. I love using red lentils,used smaller amount of butter and added a bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was really excited about the recipe because I wanted something really radical from our everyday meals but this one fell a little flat for us. I tried it non-pureed first as so many people said they left it that way. My husband and I both thought it was lacking flavor. Neither of us finished it. I decided to give it a second chance the next day by heating it up and pureeing it like the recipe stated. This time it tasted much better and I think it is because you get all the flavors in every bite. The problem then became that the texture and visual appeal was not fun. It really did look like baby food and the kind that you feel sorry that your baby has to eat. Don't think I would try this again but thank you for opening my eyes to new possibilities with flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States