Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
this was great! i didnt puree the soup and added more lentils so it was more stew-like, also included kale and a pinch of coriander and ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Awesome soup! I've replaced the butter with olive oil to make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was feeling really lazy one day, but had all the ingredients, so thought I'd try making it a simpler way (had made it before the usual way with great results). I just put all the ingredients in a roasting pan, and chucked it in the oven. It was nearly as good as the usual way, only dirtied one pan, and required very little prep. I was also able to use less oil (I subbed coconut oil - yum, but had used olive oil in the past with good results as well). I also prefer it with more spices, as others have recommended, so increased the amount to my taste. It was a hit, and for a lazy day, I'll be using the oven method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Westfall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Edible but not something we would make again. We added some fresh rosemary and cilantro leftover from another recipe but otherwise made as written. Even with fresh herbs added, it didn’t have the depth of flavor we were expecting given the combination of ingredients. Finely had to add some other spices to make it more desirable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This wasn't terrible; I wasn't going to puree it like some people said, but when I tasted it I was wondering if it would taste better if I did so; so I put it in the blender, added a drop of plan greek yogurt and then it was yummy! I also used black lentils bc I didn't have any red ones; I also left out the salt..not sure if I would make it again but it wasn't terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashtay24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent soup! We halved the recipe, but went ahead and used the full apple. This doubling of the apple is the only change we made from the original. As I added the spices, I thought this might taste a bit like chili, but that was not the case. It was nicely flavored, with a wonderful unique flavor! We'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Such a fabulous fall soup that is worthy of any dinner party! When I read all the ingredients, I knew it would be delicious. Use the red lentils so the color of the soup is a beautiful autumn color when it is pureed. The flavor was perfect, but I think I will use olive oil in place of the butter next time to make it healtier. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Ah-MAZING! This soup is so good and will be one of my favorite go to soups. Serve with good whole wheat bread/biscuits for supper or perfect to have ready to warm up for lunch guests. Everyone in our family loved the mellow, warm flavours of this soup. We will be making this again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Unexpectedly delicious. I used a large onion, I slivered some fresh ginger, didn't put in the chili powder as I didn't have any, and I didn't have broth so I used water. After boiling I threw in some sliced mushrooms as well. DELICIOUS. I semi-pureed it, leaving some of it stew-like. I also made some quinoa on the side to add to the protein. I prefer it separately, though. Absolutely un-improvable :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States