Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I am not a vegetarian, but the combination of these ingredients intrigued me. I have to say it was fabulous. Did not puree, and used chicken broth and light yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made a couple small changes but overall I really enjoyed this soup! I subbed ground ginger (1/4 tsp) because I didn't have fresh and green lentils since I didn't have red. I also added 2 medium russet potatoes (peeled and cubed), 1 can of (no-salt added) corn and 1 can of white beans (drained and rinsed). Last but not least, I'm a 'chunky soup' kinda gal, so I skipped the pureeing step all together. It was a very hearty, filling soup with great flavor. Definitely planning to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
We love this recipe as is. I did not have yogurt this time and it was fine without it. A great winter warm-up. Great with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Four stars because I want to save 5 for the most amazing recipes. Very very easy to do and a great combination of flavors - very well balanced. What is amazing is how healthy it is and how easy it is to make. I estimated out the calories and using 6 servings, it is only 300 calories per bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe- I just happened to have all of the ingredients on-hand, which made it even better. The soup was very bright and delicious, and perfect for a late fall dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
pureed with some chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was delicious! Only thing I didn't add was the red lentils (forgot to buy them) – but it was so tasty just the same. The suggestion to use a stick blender works very well, and you only need to puree as much (velvety) or as little (chunkier) for consistency as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is delicious soup. Perfect on a fall day or cold winter night! I like it pureed but I agree it would make a beautiful stew also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved this soup! I did add an extra apple (unpeeled) and a can of light coconut milk. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I was concerned that the chili powder, black pepper, and cumin would be overpowering, but the spice mix was perfect! I'll be making this again and again. I followed the advice of other reviewers and pureed just half of the soup. I also used half olive oil and half butter. Next time, I may use even less of both. I'm looking forward to leftovers for lunch today with some brown bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've done the recipe a couple of times and I really like it but I always use brown lentils because I don't know where to find red lentils. Also last time I didn't have sweet potatoes so I used half a butternut squash and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Girona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States