Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delish! Adults & kids liked this. Followed the recipie, just used more sweet potato, carrots and the red lentils. Used split red lentils - they cook faster. Oh, and low sodium chicken broth instead of veg. Used my immersion/stick blender to blend everything together right in the pot. Topped with some crumbled feta and/or Greek yogurt. Easy to make and will make again! Yummy in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow! What a savory, hearty winter soup. Wife said it was her favorite soup to date. I had to use chicken broth in lieu of vegetable broth. I added a potato and left the skins on to keep more nutrition locked in, nobody noticed since it all ended up pureed. Also used vanilla flavored greek yogurt. I think plain would have been better. Really healthy except for the sodium. I think I would hunt down some low sodium vegetable broth next time. Really left me full too with all those complex carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Only had one sweet potato, so that's what I used. Best soup I've ever made! Really easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Absolute favorite soup! Kids like it it, and my husband and I both love this. I stick to the recipe usually except I add a heaping 1/2 tsp of garam masala and use homemade chicken stock instead of veggie broth. My husband likes it spicy, so he adds a generous helping of cayenne pepper (and/or curry paste) to add some extra heat to his. This is a delicious and flexible recipe - a little more or less of something still works fine, as do regular brown lentils and ground ginger. Have some extra red pepper - throw it in etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
A great soup for chilly winter evenings! The only changes I made were to use olive oil instead of butter, & I used an immersion mixer to puree the soup (rather than trying to dump hot soup in batches between a standard blender & the soup pot). The immersion blender really is a life-saver in recipes like this! I served this soup as a side; the rest of the meal included roasted carrots, parsnips, & brussels sprouts, brown basmati rice which I cooked in veggie broth, & boneless chicken thighs baked in a dijon-&-maple sauce. I'll be serving this yummy soup as a side in the future, & also for lunches with a hunk of hearty bread. So healthy, & the seasonings enhance the warming effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkyEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
As suggested, I did NOT puree and I added 4 cups of spinach (chopped) 5 minutes before serving. I also substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. This soup is very quick and easy to make--I already had all the ingredients on hand. The flavors are just right, especially with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. It is my new favorite soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I loved this! Next time I make it, I'll have everything all chopped up (that took the longest time). I added about 1/2 c. water at the end. The flavor was perfect. And I added a dollop of non-fat plain greek yogurt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really nice stew. I didn't puree it, and added some leftover chickpeas I had in the fridge. Also put some coriander and garam masala in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States