Sweet Potato Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was an excellent dish. I used sweet sausage which I browned without water. I also used 9 extra large eggs as that was all I had. Finally, I was lazy and did not feel like chopping up the spinach, so I just threw in the baby spinach leaves and tore in half a few of the really large ones. The only thing to be careful of was the baking time, mine was overdone and slightly burnt in the corners when I checked it at 50 minutes, so next time I will check in 40 minutes. This was probably my fault as I baked it in a glass baking dish and did not adjust the temperature. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DylanKip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this for 15 people for Thanksgiving morning- it was a hit! Delicious flavor. We used full fat cheeses, hot pork sausage, no water, and frozen (unthawed) kale from our garden. What I would do differently is: first sautee the onions with butter and garlic, bake the potatoes rather than shredding them, and spoon the baked potato with butter into the bottoms of the pans. This way the casserole bake time is only 30 minutes (for hungry morning people). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
WOW! This was great. I didn't tell my son it had sweet potatoes in it and he loved it. Everyone loved it and wants me to make it again. A great healthy meal for breakfast. I used regular sausage instead of vegetarian but will try vegetarian another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was a delicious idea! I did make some tweaks though... Instead of the vegan sausage I used turkey breakfast sausage and instead of cottage cheese I used 1/2 a block of cream cheese because I already had it in my refrigerator. Thank you for this post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I really liked this dish a lot. The sweetness of the sweet potatoes gave it a unique flavor. The next time I make it I will add more spinach. I also think I will omit the cottage cheese and add milk instead. I did use already cooked turkey sausage crumbles. And I will add Roma tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
WOW just wow! This was amazing I was so surprised! I ended up using a few large handfuls of finely chopped broccoli instead of spinach and a couple more veggie sausage links. Added salt and pepper to the filling as well. Topped with some hot sauce and I was in heaven! I burnt my mouth on my first piece because I was trying to eat it so fast! You really can't go wrong with this recipe, its wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've made this before and it was requested for THANKSgiving!! I'd say it's a hit in my home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was not very good. Very bland. Sweet potatoes laborious to shred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Easy and tasted not too bad, but it's hard to mess up a dish filled with cheese. Found it too heavy for me, but definitely a good way to mix the sweet potatos and the spinaches in the same dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a big hit at the brunch I took it to! It's a nice vegetarian option for breakfast, but even the meat eaters loved it. Use a food processor of some sort to chop the sweet potatoes finely and to save your knuckles and a lot of time. I made it according to the recipe; it was true to the cooking time suggested in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States