Sweet Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I don't care for sweet potatoes, but I got a large can of them at Thanksgiving and didn't want it to go to waste. I decided to try this, and figured if I hated it I could take it to work and maybe my coworkers would like it. Hah! It never stood a chance! These are delicious and I had to stop myself from eating them all at once. The sweet potato flavor wasn't very strong which helped. The orange zest goes well with the sweet potatoes. My loaf pans are currently in storage, so I used large muffin pans, which took about 20 minutes to bake. I still have sweet potatoes leftover (I threw the leftovers in the freezer), which is awesome because I have every intention of making more of these! Even if you hate sweet potatoes, give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I made a few changes to make this bread healthier. I used whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of the oil, and reduced the sugar by half. I also halved the recipe to serve 16. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a great bread! Great flavor and texture. The only thing is that I've made it twice and it has only been enough for one loaf. Anyone else had this happen? I followed the recipe without making any adjustments...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
The sweet potatoes must be fresh & in season because it didn't taste very sweet potato like to me! It was good, just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I used about 1.5 cup of mashed sweet potatoes. Added 1/8 tsp. clove and only used 1 tsp. grated orange peel. You could definitely taste the flavor without using 2 tsp. of it. Very easy to make and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yummy! I did make some changes though. 1/4 C O.J. instead of zest (didn't have any). Heavy on the sweet potato, oil, and applesauce. And reduced white sugar by 1/2 C. Also required little over an hour of bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
very good, but a little dry. will go a little heavy on the applesauce and spice and a little light on the flour and sugar next time. cook time is a little long. it's a keeper though. going in the recipe binder! (I think if you use fresh sweet potato, your outcome will be dictated by the sweetness and moistness of your mashed tater, so adjust for personal pref!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I love this bread! I had overbought on canned sweet potatoes for thanksgiving and had just enough to make this loaf. I was concerned because the dough seemed dry to me, but the bread turned out soft and moist and has a great sweet-but-not-too-sweet flavor. I subbed Splenda brown sugar for regular and next time I'd love to try whole wheat flour with it. There will definitely be many next times on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This turned out fantastic. I did make a few changes including using orange juice as recommended by another review because I didn't have any orange zest on hand. I also used leftover sweet potato casserole that had a base of sweet potatoes, bananas and honey, so I cut the sugar by half and it was perfect...not to sweet, not too bland. I'll definitely make this again and follow the recipe to see the difference, but my guess is that it will be just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These are so good. But instead of the grated orange peel I used the 1/2 cup of orange juice that one of the other posters mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States