Sweet Potato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This made enough batter for two 9x5 loaf pans. It baked nicely in 65 mins. I used the whole amount of sugar and we found it perfectly sweet, and it's well spiced for us too. Very moist, dense and all around really good. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I usually try to make recipes exactly as written the first time, but I used only 1 1/2 C sugar for this one. Since I was modifying, I used applesauce in lieu of oil as well. It was perfect and I'm glad I didn't use the full amount of sugar, I could even see cutting back to 1C. I think it would be great with whole wheat flour as well and will try that next time. The blend of spices is just perfect an not too strong even for my young kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I just made this and it is tasty. I love sweet potatoes and was excited to try something new with them. I took the advice of a couple of other people who reviewed this recipe and used apple sauce instead of oil, and cut the sugar from 3C to 2C. I sprinkled 1/2 C of this sugar on top as someone had suggested. It was plenty sweet. Next time I may cut the amount of nutmeg as I found it a bit strong. I made this recipe gluten free by substituting my own flour mix and it turned out great (some recipes don't turn out when you make them gluten free). Gluten Free Flour: 1C brown rice flour 1-1/4 C white rice flour 1/4C potato starch 2/3C tapioca starch 3/4C sweet rice flour 1/3C corn starch 2 tsp guar gum You can find these ingredients at bulk food or health food stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We don't like sweet potatoes, but had some and they must be used. This was fabulous. Everyone loved....very similar to pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Nettesheim-Flynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
First, I halved the recipe. Substitutions made include: 1 cup whole wheat and 3/4 cup all-purpose, 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil, 1 egg-beater cup instead of two eggs, and used 1/2 cup splenda/sugar baking mix instead of all the sugar. Also added dried cranberries and did not peel the sweet potatoes. It turned out wonderfully, at just one hour exactly. A little oatmeal and sugar sprinkled on top, beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
my family LOVED these! I made mini-muffins (approx 70) about and a loaf. I used 2 cups of leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving plus one cup canned pumpkin (also extra from the making of a pumpkin pie). Instead of all the spices, I used 2 tablespoons of Pampered Chef's Cinnamon Plus blend and they came out perfect!!!! We ate about a dozen muffins right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
While this was good I was hoping for something a little less dense (too much like zucchini bread for me) any suggestions to make it more fluffy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
The taste was good, but this was much too dry. Would recommend decreasing the baking time by about 5-10 minutes. UPDATE: I tried this recipe again and it would also benefit from slightly more OJ to add moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I followed other reviews and limited the sugar to one and a half cups plus a little extra to sprinkle on the top before baking. I've found that dusting the top of quick breads with a little bit of sugar is an excellent substitute for copious amounts of sugar in the batter plus it give the bread a great, crusty top. Like another reviewer, I substituted applesauce for all of the oil and it turned out great. I would recommend both greasing and flouring the pans, though. Also, I would add about one teaspoon extra cinnamon. My loaves cooked in one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for t-day breakfast and WOW! was it great! I did a few alterations (suggestions from some of the others). Used only 2 cups sugar, divided the flour into 1/2 ALL-PURPOSE and 1/2 WHOLE WHEAT, and microwaved the sweet potatoes. Made mini muffins, baked them for 12 minutes. The recipe made about 42 mini muffins. NO LEFTOVERS! Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States