Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is delicious! The changes I made were to add 1/2 teaspoon of allspice along with the cinnamon and nutmeg and used 3/4 cup each of white and brown sugar instead of all white. I used apple juice instead of water for the liquid. This is a very sweet bread, so if you don't like that you might want to try a different recipe. It is moist, fragrantly spicy and a little less heavy than a similar recipe with pumpkin would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum Yum Yum! Easy to make, turned out delicious and toasted with butter made it melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Wonderful Recipe!! The bread was not to sweet but had a wonderful taste to it! I added some brown sugar to it as well and it turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Excellent! I made muffins instead of bread, and my kids loved them. I did use only 1 cup sugar, and they were plenty sweet enough. It's so hard to find a healthy, low fat muffin or bread that tastes good- this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Loved it lots of flavour and quick and easy to make.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is simple, easy and wonderful. My co-workers loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Absolutely LOVED IT!!!! I doubled the recipe. Then added only 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar. instead of oil I added 1 cup homemade apple sauce. Instead of water I added apple sauce. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was the best i made it last year for thanksgiving and have had tons of request for the recipe. Plan on making it this year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I wanted to used my leftover sweet potatoes from thanksgiving dinner and this recipe was a hit!! Thank you! My children don't like sweet potatoes but they gobbled up the muffins for breakfast this morning. They were very moist and flavourful. I added raisins instead of pecans. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I didnt have pecans or nutmeg so used granola and a little vanilla extract instead. Turned out to be a hearty, delicious bread! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States