Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ady925
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was an awesome recipe. I substituted parts of the flour with a combination of chia, oatmeal, and flaxseed; and parts of the white sugar for brown coconut sugar. And all the oil with applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Delicious!! Added about a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and it was even better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
While the bread was very moist, I felt it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great recipe. Moist, flavorful, easy to make. Mixed up a sweet cream cheese spread to spread on slices for a breakfast treat. Will bake this in small loaves for Christmas gifts along with a small container of the spread. Love it. This is a recipe I'll bake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Modified for GF. Used half brown sugar, subbed coconut oil, added 3/4 tsp xanthan gum as recommended on the GF flour package, and used almond milk instead of water. Result was moist, light, beautiful, fragrant, and... Only ok. I love sweet potatoes so I had my fingers crossed. Maybe when it fully cools I'll love it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Grammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was my first time to ever cook Sweet Potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly as instructed...It was super easy to make & delicious. Looooved it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Made this for a work project & they loved it. I used 1/2 cup brown/white sugar & applesauce for the oil. Used about 1 1/2 cups of fresh mashed sweet potato & 1/2 cup milk, instead of water. I cooked the sweet potato the night before and kept in the fridge overnight. Some of the reviews said it was a runny batter. Mine was thick, maybe due the cold potato? It definately needed a longer cooking time 60-70 minutes, I checked it often. I loved the pecans in it. Everyone else thought raisins would be great. It is a very dense heavy bread. I made 2 loaves & the 2nd loaf was not eaten right away. 3 days later we ate the other loaf & it was just as moist & delicious as the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My family loved this. Super moist. We call it "instead pumpkin bread." Great way to use up all those sweet potatoes at the end of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.H.A.O.S. Mommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia Nelson
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Followed recipe for the most part, but used leftover sweet potatoes from dinner. They were mixed with butter and brown sugar. There for I only used 1 1/4 of white sugar. Didn't have any pecans. For a quick bread it was delish. Even the cable guy enjoyed some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I doubled this recipe because I had a bunch of sweet potatoes that I needed to use. As other reviewers suggested, I used half brown & white sugar, only cinnamon, and 1/2 of the oil and substituted the rest with applesauce, and added walnuts to the top. It turned out great. My ends got over cooked...but I just cut those off!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States