Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Can I give ten stars? Made this today and cooked it in a bundt pan, then drizzled with icing and shook on some colored sprinkles. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and left out the nuts as I didn't have any, probably would be just as good with them, but certainly this is just awesome without nuts. I'll be making this over and over again. Hubs is usually not keen on spice-of-any-kind cakes, but this one he really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I just love this bread. It is super moist and does remind me of pumpkin bread. I anticipated baking this and baked two medium sweet potatoes for it. A cup of mashed sweet potatoes required just one of my pre-baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I wasn't sure about this bread before I made it, but it was great. I might even like it better than pumpkin bread :) Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Nice recipe, I reduced the sugar a bit, still sweet enough for my taste. I will use more sweet potatoes next time as I could barely make out the sweet potato flavor. Does anyone know if you are supposed to refrigerate the loaf? Some of the sweet potato pieces in one loaf started to look green the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Holy this is ridicugood!!! Used Bulk Barn All purpose gluten free flour and 2 tsp xanthan gum, and it actually tasted like normal bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I used orange juice as opposed to water, and used both butter and oil together. I added walnuts and used a large can of pre-cooked yams. Yummy! Thank you for such a great recipe... will go put it in my box now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabs1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Perfect when you only need one loaf of bread and don't want to be stuck with two around the house. To save time I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave, 6 minutes a piece. You can get away with using just one sweet potato to get a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very yummy!! I made these a "lighter" version than the recipes also I was out of regular white sugar! I substituted Splenda Blend for the sugar, whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and unsweetened applesauce for the vegetable oil. I also used a container of pre cooked and mashed sweet potato found near the fresh-ready to cook potatoes. These came out delicious and moist and not overly sweet at all! I made a double batch and pured some into a loaf pan and the rest onto a muffin tin with muffin liners. Because there is no oil n this batter, they stuck to the papers after cooking, so I probablywill either spray the liners next time or just use the loaf pan. These were awesome! thanks for the recipe Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was so yummy! A couple of changes I made: I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar and substituted walnuts for the pecans. Next time I will put batter into two pans so that it will bake faster. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We tried a yam (which is biologically similar but different from a sweet potato) for dinner tonight and no one liked it. So I used it up with this recipe. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and used dark brown sugar. It was plenty sweet. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and subbed 1/2 cup sour cream for the 1/3 cup water. Made 12 muffins. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States